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BACKGROUND 

1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to household goods 

companies. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports 

and pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face penalties of $100 for each 

violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s 

continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

2 Keiko Martinez (Company) did not file an annual report on May 2, 2016, and had not 

made that filing by May 16. On June 28, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 

against Keiko Martinez, calculated as $100 per business day from May 2 to May 16. 

3 On July 13, 2016, Keiko Martinez filed a complete annual report and paid the required 

regulatory fee. That same day, Keiko Martinez responded to the Commission’s penalty 

assessment, admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the information 

provided. In its response, the Company states, “I take this business very seriously and 

want everything in order. The packet that I got from Commission, there were not 2015 

annual report forms and 2016 regulatory fee packets inside the envelope. I made copies 

of these paperwork that was inside of the envelope. Please consider that this is my first 

year of my first business. English is my second language.” Keiko Martinez included with 

its response a copy of the Commission order granting it temporary household goods 

carrier authority. 

4 On July 26, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $250, because the Company became regulated in 2015 and 

therefore has no prior violations of WAC 480-15-480.  
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DISCUSSION 

5 WAC 480-15-480 requires household goods carriers to file annual reports by May 1 of 

each year, or the first business day thereafter. Companies are responsible for complying 

with their legal obligations, and the Company should not rely on reminders from the 

Commission to ensure compliance. 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, Keiko Martinez has since corrected the 

violation by filing its annual report and paying its regulatory fee. Because we have 

routinely granted mitigation to similarly-situated companies in their first year of 

operation, the Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $250. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

7 (1) Keiko Martinez’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is GRANTED in 

part, and the penalty is reduced to $250.   

8 (2) The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than August 29, 2016. 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 15, 2016. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

STEVEN V. KING 

Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   

 


