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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

WHIDBEY MOVING & STORAGE, 

INC. 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

DOCKET TV-150947 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING  

MITIGATION TO $250 

 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-15-480. On February 27, 2015, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report 

and regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers. The forms included a reminder 

that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 

2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of 

continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Whidbey Moving & Storage, Inc. (Whidbey Moving or Company) did not file an annual 

report by May 1, 2015, and had not made that filing by May 15. On June 2, the 

Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 against Whidbey Moving, calculated as $100 

per business day from May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On May 28, 2015, Whidbey Moving filed its annual report and paid its regulatory and 

late payment fees. On June 8, Whidbey Moving responded to the Commission’s penalty 

assessment, admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written 

information provided. The Company requested the penalty be waived because a change 

in the annual report form required additional time to gather the required information, and 

the Company did not know it could request an extension. 

 

4 On June 17, 2015, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $250, because the Company has no prior violations of WAC 

480-15-480. Staff noted that the Commission’s annual report form for 2014 was the same 

form the Company completed and timely filed in 2013. 
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DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-15-480 requires permitted household goods carriers to file annual reports and 

pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for complying 

with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its annual report was 

timely filed.   

 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including a 

company’s history of compliance, whether the violation was promptly corrected, and the 

likelihood the violation will recur.1  This is Whidbey Moving’s first violation of WAC 

480-15-480, and the Company filed its annual report and paid its regulatory and late 

payment fees prior to receiving the penalty assessment. In addition, the Company has 

been regulated since 1996; given its history of compliance, the violation is not likely to 

recur. In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the 

penalty to $250. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) Whidbey Moving & Storage, Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is 

GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250.   

 

8 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than July 10, 2015. 

 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 3029, 2015. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


