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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov

October 29, 2014

Cary Johnson
Johnson’s Hauling LLC 
PO Box 1525
Mead, WA 99021

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Cary Johnson d/b/a  Johnson’s Hauling LLC aka Johnson’s Hauling & Moving, Docket TV-143300

Dear Mr. Johnson:

I am the administrative law judge presiding over the hearing scheduled for Tuesday, November 4, 2014, at the Commission’s headquarters in Olympia, Washington.  On October 5, 2014, you were personally served with a subpoena requiring you to appear on that date.  I received your letter, dated October 15, 2014, requesting to appear telephonically or to be granted a hearing in Spokane.  I also received Commission staff’s response, dated October 17, 2014, recommending the Commission deny your request. 

While we are unable to accommodate your request for either a hearing in Spokane or a telephonic appearance, we are willing to waive the requirement for you to appear at the hearing provided you do each of the following:

1) By close of business on Monday, November 3, 2014, sign and return to the Commission the enclosed agreed order, which finds you in violation of RCW 81.80.075(2) and assesses a penalty of $5,000.  A $4,500 portion of the penalty will be suspended for a period of two years provided you timely pay the remaining $500 portion of the penalty and cease and desist all unpermitted operations as a household goods carrier.
2) By close of business on Monday, November 3, 2014, send your first penalty payment of $200 along with the signed agreed order.
3) Pay the remaining penalty balance of $300 within 30 days.

If you wish to contest the violations alleged in the complaint brought by Commission staff, you must appear at the scheduled hearing.  If you fail to either appear at the hearing or return the signed agreed order and pay a $200 portion of the mitigated penalty by 5:00 p.m. on November 3, 2014, you will be held in default at the hearing on November 4. If you are held in default, you will be assessed the full $5,000 penalty, which will be due and payable immediately.  

If you choose to sign the agreed order and render payment of $200 by November 3, I recommend you use an overnight delivery service to ensure timely receipt by the Commission.  If you have any questions, please contact Megan Banks, Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1129, or mbanks@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Rayne Pearson
Administrative Law Judge
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