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DECLARATION OF 
SHERI HOYT 

 
 SHERI HOYT, under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington, 
declares as follows: 
 

1. I am over 18 years of age, a citizen of the United States, a resident of the state of 
Washington, and competent to be a witness. 

 
2. I am employed by the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) as a Compliance Specialist in the Business Practices Investigations 
Section. I have been employed at the Commission for over 14 years, holding various 
positions. As a Compliance Specialist, my responsibilities include producing penalty 
assessments for signature by administrative law judges. As part of those duties, I 
receive compliance reviews or other inspections or investigations where Commission 
Staff (Staff) has recommended penalties and draft orders for consideration by the 
Commission. 

 
3. On July 31, 2006, I received the Monroe Transportation LTD d/b/a Chinook Charter 

Service (Chinook Charter) compliance review with a Staff recommendation for a 
penalty of $4,100 for violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-40-
070 and 480-40-075, which adopt by reference Parts 391, 393 and 396 of Title 49 of 
the Code of Federal Regulations.1  The Commission issued the penalty assessment 
order, signed by Administrative Law Judge C. Robert Wallis, on August 28, 2006.  

 
4. On September 8, 2006, the Commission received Chinook Charter’s application for 

mitigation of penalties (application). In the application, Chinook Charter asked for a 
hearing and a decision by an administrative law judge. 

 
 

                                                 
1 WAC 480-40-070 and WAC 480-40-075 were repealed by Order No. R-533 in Docket No. TC-020497, but the 
Commission preserved the adoption by reference of 49 C.F.R. §§ 391, 393, and 396 in new rule WAC 480-30-
221(1) and in amended rule 480-30-999. The adoption of the new rule was filed with the Code Reviser’s Office June 
8, 2006, and went into effect upon the expiration of thirty days after the date of filing. At the time of the change, the 
penalty assessment was in processing and, consequently, issued with reference to the old rule numbers, WAC 480-
40-070 and WAC 480-40-075. 
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5. Staff is not opposed to a hearing in this matter. 
 

DATED this 25th day of September, 2006 at Olympia, Washington. 
 
 

_____________________________ 
SHERI HOYT 
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