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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment DOCKET TG-210587
Against
ORDER 01
BAINBRIDGE DISPOSAL, INC.,
ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO
in the amount of $7,000 $3,600

BACKGROUND

On September 13, 2021, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission) assessed a $7,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Bainbridge
Disposal, Inc., (Bainbridge Disposal or Company) for 70 violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-70-201, which adopts by reference sections of Title 49
Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).! The Penalty Assessment includes:

e a$2,000 penalty for 20 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 383.23(a) for allowing
drivers to operate a commercial motor vehicle without a valid commercial
driver’s license (CDL) on 20 occasions between June 2 and 22, 2021;

e a $4,900 penalty for 49 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) for allowing a
driver without a valid medical certificate to operate a motor vehicle on 49
occasions between April 1 and June 23, 2021; and

e a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(a)(1) for operating a
motor vehicle with broken and loose brake chambers.

On September 23, 2021, Bainbridge Disposal responded to the Penalty Assessment
admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written
information provided. In its response, the Company explained that the violations were
unintentional and occurred inadvertently. The Company provided a comprehensive
response to each violation, including descriptions of corrective measures the Company
took to prevent repeat violations.

L WAC 480-15-560 and -570 adopt by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly,
Commission safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the
applicable provision of 49 C.F.R.
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On October 1, 2021, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the
Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part. Because the Company
has taken significant steps to ensure compliance going forward, Staff recommends the
Commission reduce the assessed penalty from $7,000 to $3,600. Staff further
recommends that $2,000 of the reduced penalty be suspended for a period of two years,
and then waived, subject to the conditions that: (1) Staff conducts a focused review in
two years or as soon thereafter as practicable to review the Company’s driver
qualifications, (2) the Company not incur any repeat violations of critical or acute
regulations, and (3) Bainbridge Disposal timely pays the $1,600 portion of the penalty
that is not suspended.

DISCUSSION AND DECISION

Washington law requires solid waste collection carriers to comply with federal safety
requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. In some cases, Commission
requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue
penalties for first-time violations.? Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which
are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.?
Critical violations discovered during safety inspections are subject to penalties of $100
per violation.*

The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation,
including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been
considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that
convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in
ensuring the company’s compliance.> We address each violation category in turn.

49 C.F.R. § 383.23(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $2,000 penalty for 20
violations of 49 C.F.R. § 383.23(a) because Bainbridge Disposal allowed drivers Craig
Peterson and Kurt Strickland to operate a commercial motor vehicle with a downgraded
commercial driver’s license (CDL) on 20 occasions between June 2 and 22, 2021. In its
response, the Company explained that it unintentionally and inadvertently failed to renew

2 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation
Commission 112 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy).

%49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B.
* See RCW 81.04.405.

® Enforcement Policy 19.
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its employees CDLs due to a misunderstanding regarding changes to Department of
Licensing requirements. The Company further explained that it has since implemented
extensive measures to ensure employees’ CDLs are valid going forward.

Staff recommends the Commission reduce the penalty to $1,000. We agree with Staff’s
recommendation and assess a reduced penalty of $1,000. Mitigation of this portion of the
penalty is appropriate because Bainbridge Disposal promptly corrected the violations by
updating the employee licenses and immediately implemented compliance measures to
prevent the violations from reoccurring.

49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $4,900 penalty for 49
violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) because Bainbridge Disposal allowed driver Evan
Edwards to operate a commercial motor vehicle without a valid medical certificate on 49
occasions between April 1, 2021, and June 23, 2021. In its response, the Company
explained that not only was it shorthanded as a result of the ongoing COVID-19
pandemic, but it was unaware of the regulations requiring a driver of the vehicle at issue
to have a valid medical card. The Company further explained that Evan Edwards has
obtained his certified medical card and that the Company has taken further measures,
including hiring a new safety/fleet manager, to ensure future compliance.

Staff recommends the Commission reduce this penalty to $2,500. We agree with Staff’s
recommendation and assess a reduced penalty of $2,500. Mitigation of this portion of the
penalty is appropriate because Bainbridge Disposal promptly corrected the violations and
took steps to prevent reoccurrence.

49 C.F.R. § 396.3(a)(1). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one
violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(a)(1) because Bainbridge Disposal’s commercial motor
vehicle had broken and loose brake chambers on each side of an axle. In its response, the
Company states that the damage occurred undetected in the four day period between a
regular inspection and the Commission’s inspection, and that the vehicle was afterwards
placed out of service until it could be fixed.

Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree. This is a critical
safety violation that puts the traveling public at risk. Accordingly, we conclude that
assessing a $100 penalty for this violation is appropriate.

Suspended Penalty. The Commission considers several factors in determining whether
to suspend a portion of a penalty, including whether it is a first-time penalty for the same
or similar violations, and whether the company has taken specific actions to remedy the
violations and avoid the same or similar violations in the future, such as purchasing new
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technology, making system changes, or training company personnel.® Another factor we
consider is whether the company agrees to a specific compliance plan that will guarantee
future compliance in exchange for suspended penalties.’

In this case, Bainbridge Disposal promptly corrected the violations and has taken action
to prevent the violations from reoccurring. In any enforcement proceeding, the
Commission’s goal is to obtain compliance, not create an insurmountable financial
burden for a regulated company.

Suspending a portion of the penalty with the conditions proposed by Staff will both
increase compliance and provide a strong incentive to avoid violations in the future.
Accordingly, we agree with Staff’s recommendation and suspend a $2,000 portion of the
penalty for a period of two years, and then waive it, subject to the following conditions:

e Staff conducts a focused review in two years or as soon thereafter as practicable
to review the Company’s driver qualifications;

e Bainbridge Disposal does not incur any repeat violations of critical or acute
regulations, and;

e The Company pays the $1,600 portion of the penalty that is not suspended within
10 days of the effective date of this order.

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

@ The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with
authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service
companies, including solid waste collection carriers, and has jurisdiction over the
parties and subject matter of this proceeding.

2 Bainbridge Disposal is a solid waste collection carrier subject to Commission
regulation.

3 Bainbridge Disposal violated 49 C.F.R. § 383.23(a) when its employees drove its
commercial motor vehicle on 20 occasions with downgraded CDLSs.

4 The Commission should penalize Bainbridge Disposal $1,000 for 20 violations of
49 C.F.R. § 383.23(a).

®1d. at 120.
"1d.
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(5) Bainbridge Disposal violated 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a), when its employee drove its
commercial motor vehicle on 49 occasions without a valid medical certificate.

(6) The Commission should penalize Bainbridge Disposal $2,500 for 49 violations of
49 C.F.R. 8 391.45(a).

(7) Bainbridge Disposal violated 49 C.F.R. 8 396.3(a)(1) when its commercial motor
vehicle had broken and loose brake chambers on each side of axle number three.

(8 The Commission should penalize Bainbridge Disposal $100 for one violation of
49 C.F.R. § 396.3(a)(1).

€)] The Commission should suspend a $2,000 portion of the penalty for two years,

and then waive it, subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 14, above.

ORDER

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

1)

)

©)

Bainbridge Disposal, Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $7,000 penalty is
GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $3,600.

The Commission assesses a $3,600 penalty against Bainbridge Disposal, Inc. The
Commission suspends a $2,000 portion of the penalty for a period of two years,
and then waives it, subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 14, above.

The $1,600 portion of the penalty that is not suspended is due and payable within
10 days of the effective date of this Order.

The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).

DATED at Lacy, Washington, and effective October 13, 2021.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

AMANDA MAXWELL
Executive Director and Secretary
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NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for
decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for
Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is
posted on the Commission’s website.



