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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

ROBANY WORK SERVICES, LLC 

 

in the amount of $12,400 

DOCKET TV-171143 

 

ORDER 01 

 

GRANTING MITIGATION TO $4,000; 

IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING 

PENALTIES 

 

BACKGROUND 

1 On December 6, 2017, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $12,400 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Robany Work 

Services, LLC (Robany or Company) for 124 violations of Chapter 480-15 Washington 

Administrative Code (WAC), which adopts by reference sections of Title 49 Code of 

Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).1 The Penalty Assessment includes a $6,200 penalty for 62 

violations of WAC 480-15-550 for operating a commercial motor vehicle without the 

required level of cargo insurance in effect; and a $6,200 penalty for 62 violations of 49 

C.F.R. Part 391.45(b)(1) for using a driver not medically examined and certified.  

2 On December 26, 2017, the Company responded to the Penalty Assessment, requesting 

mitigation of the penalty based on the written information provided. In its response, the 

Company admitted the violations, and explained that its violation of the cargo insurance 

requirements was unintentional.  

3 On January 3, 2018, Staff filed a response recommending the Commission grant the 

Company’s request for mitigation, in part. Staff recommends that the Commission reduce 

the penalty from $12,400 to $4,000, and that $2,000 of the reduced penalty be suspended, 

and then waived, subject to the conditions that the Company: 1) pays the $2,000 portion 

of the penalty that is not suspended or files jointly with Staff an approved payment plan, 

and 2) does not incur any repeat violations within the next two years.  

                                                 
1 WAC 480-15-560 and 570 adopt by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, 

Commission safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the 

applicable provision of 49 C.F.R. 
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DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 Washington law requires household goods carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.2 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.3 Violations defined by federal law as “acute” or 

“critical” meet this standard.4  

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.5  

6 WAC 480-15-550. The Penalty Assessment includes a $6,200 penalty for 62 violations 

of WAC 480-15-550 for operating a commercial motor vehicle on 62 occasions without 

the required level of cargo insurance in effect. The Company admits it did not have the 

required level of cargo insurance but explains it provided insurance information to the 

Commission with its application for a temporary business license, and that Staff approved 

the Company’s application without alerting the Company that the insurance was 

inadequate. Because the application was approved, the Company assumed it was 

complying with insurance requirements. 

7 Staff responds that it believes the Company acted in good faith in obtaining its cargo 

insurance, and acknowledges that it may have missed an opportunity to point out the 

discrepancy to the Company. Staff also notes that the Company immediately corrected 

the violation upon being advised of the problem. Therefore, Staff recommends that the 

Commission assess a reduced penalty of $1,000.  

                                                 
2 See RCW 81.04.405. 

3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12, 15 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

4 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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8 We agree with Staff’s recommendation to mitigate the penalty to $1,000. The Company 

immediately corrected the violations prior to receiving the Penalty Assessment, and these 

are first-time violations. Although Staff’s failure to detect the violation at the time of 

application does not excuse the violations, the fact that the application was approved 

lends support to the Company’s claim that the violation was unintentional. In light of 

these factors, we assess a $1,000 penalty for three violations of WAC 480-15-550. 

9 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(b)(1). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $6,200 penalty for 

62 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(b)(1) because Robany owner Hachimi Ouedraogo 

drove a commercial motor vehicle on 62 occasions without having been medically 

examined and certified. The Company did not address this violation in its mitigation 

request. 

10 Staff recommends the Commission assess a reduced penalty of $3,000 because the 

Company promptly corrected the violation prior to receiving the Penalty Assessment. 

Because these are first-time violations and the Company immediately took corrective 

action, we agree with Staff’s recommendation and assess a $3,000 penalty for this 

violation category. 

11 Suspended Penalty. Because these are first-time violations that the Company has since 

remedied, we agree with Staff’s recommendation to suspend a $2,000 portion of the 

penalty for a period of two years, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that the 

Company 1) pays $2,000 portion of the penalty that is not suspended or files jointly with 

Staff an approved payment plan within 10 days of the effective date of this Order, and 2) 

incurs no repeat violations. 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

12 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including household goods carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

13 (2) Robany is a household goods carrier subject to Commission regulation. 

14 (3) Robany violated WAC 480-15-550 when it operated a commercial motor vehicle 

without the required level of cargo insurance in effect on 62 occasions during the 

6 months preceding the safety investigation. 
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15 (4) The Commission should penalize Robany $1,000 for 62 violations of WAC 480-

15-550. 

16 (5) Robany violated 49 C.F.R. 391.45(b)(1) when it allowed a driver who was not 

medically examined and certified to drive on 62 occasions during the 6 months 

preceding the safety investigation.  

17 (6) The Commission should penalize Robany $3,000 for 62 violations of 49 C.F.R. 

391.45(b)(1). 

18 (7)  The Commission should assess a total penalty of $4,000 for 124 violations of 

WAC 480-15 and Title 49 C.F.R., and suspend a $2,000 portion for two years, 

and then waive it, provided that Robany pays the $2,000 unsuspended portion of 

the penalty or files jointly with staff a mutually agreeable payment arrangement 

within 10 days of the effective date of this Order, and Robany incurs no repeat 

violations. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

19 (1) Robany Work Services LLC’s request for mitigation of the $12,400 penalty is 

GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $4,000. 

20 (2) The Commission suspends a $2,000 portion of the penalty, and then waives it, 

subject to the following conditions: 1) Robany Work Services LLC may not incur 

any repeat violations of WAC 480-15-550 and 49 C.F.R. 391.45(b)(1), and 2) 

Robany Work Services LLC must pay the $2,000 portion of the penalty that is not 

suspended or file jointly with Staff a mutually agreeable payment arrangement 

within 10 days of the effective date of this Order. 

21  (3) If Robany Work Services LLC fails to satisfy any of the conditions in paragraph 

20 of this order, or fails to comply with terms of the payment arrangement, if 

applicable, the entire $4,000 penalty will become immediately due and payable 

without further Commission order.  
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22 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February 7, 2018. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


