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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

ALCLS, LLC 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

DOCKET TE-170596 

 

ORDER 01 

 

DENYING REQUEST FOR HEARING; 

DENYING CONTEST OF VIOLATIONS; 

DENYING MITIGATION 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On February 28, 2017, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all charter and excursion 

carriers. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and 

pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 2017, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of 

Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a 

separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 ALCLS, LLC (ALCLS or Company) did not file an annual report on May 1, 2017, and 

had not made that filing by May 15. On June 20, 2017, the Commission assessed a 

penalty of $1,000 against ALCLS, calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to 

May 15. 

 

3 On June 23, 2017, ALCLS responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, 

contesting the violations and requesting a hearing. In its response, the Company states, 

“please take into consideration the enclosed paperwork proving that I truly thought that I 

had done everything I was supposed to do.” The Company a copy of its report filed with 

the Washington Secretary of State with a note stating “I truly thought this was the annual 

report – I updated it on March 14, 2017.” The Company further explained that the penalty 

would create a severe financial hardship. 

 

4 On June 26, 2017, ALCLS filed a complete annual report and paid its regulatory fee. 

 

5 On July 28, 2017, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation. The penalty assessment notified 

the Company that mitigation would only be granted if the Company could demonstrate 
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that the violations occurred due to circumstances beyond its control. Because ALCLS 

failed to identify any such circumstances, Staff does not support the Company’s request. 

Staff does, however, recommend the Commission suspend a $500 portion of the penalty 

on the condition the Company timely files its 2017 annual report by May 1, 2018.  

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-30-071 and WAC 480-30-076 require charter and excursion companies to file 

annual reports by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for complying with 

their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its annual report was 

timely filed. 

 

7 As a preliminary matter, we deny the Company’s request for a hearing. The 

Commission’s penalty assessment advised the Company that a request for hearing will 

only be granted if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in hearing. Here, no issues of law or fact are in dispute. Commission records 

show that the Company’s annual report was not received until June 26, 2017. The facts, 

therefore, are undisputed, and the law is clear. Accordingly, the Company’s request for a 

hearing is denied.  

 

8 The Commission also denies the Company’s contest of the violations. The undisputed 

facts show that the Commission received the Company’s annual report on June 26, 2017, 

long after the May 1 deadline. The Company has thus violated the law. 

 

9 We agree with Staff that mitigation of the penalty is not appropriate in the circumstances 

presented here. The penalty assessment advised the Company that requests for mitigation 

will only be granted if the violations occurred due to circumstances beyond its control.1 

                                                 
1 Those circumstances include, but are not limited to: death or serious illness of the person 

responsible for filing the report, or a member of that person’s immediate family; destruction by 

fire or other casualty of the company’s place of business or business records; or an act of fraud, 

embezzlement, theft, or conversion on the part of an employee. Circumstance that do not qualify 

as an acceptable basis for requesting mitigation include: financial hardship; a misunderstanding or 

lack of knowledge of Commission rules; failure to receive an annual report form from the 

Commission; mistakes or misconduct on the part of an employees; employee termination or 

turnover; personal events such as weddings or graduation ceremonies; and vacations or business 

trips. 
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ALCLS’s explanation for its late filing – that it misunderstood the Commission’s annual 

reporting requirements – was expressly identified as an unacceptable basis for requesting 

mitigation. Accordingly, we find that ALCLS failed to demonstrate that the violations 

occurred due to circumstances beyond its control, and conclude that its request for 

mitigation should be denied.   

 

10 Finally, we decline to adopt Staff’s recommendation to suspend a portion of the penalty 

based on the Company’s financial status. The penalty assessment expressly excludes 

financial hardship as a basis for leniency. To reduce the impact of the penalty, ALCLS 

may work with Staff to establish a mutually agreeable payment arrangement. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

11 (1) ALCLS, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is DENIED.   

 

12 (2) The $1,000 penalty is due and payable no later than September 14,  2017. 

 

13 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 31, 2017. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


