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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

COMTECH 21, LLC 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

DOCKET UT-140876 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER DENYING MITIGATION  

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-120-382.  On 

February 28, 2014, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated 

telecommunications companies.  The forms included a reminder that companies must 

file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 2014, or face 

penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules.  In the case of continuing 

violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation.  RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Comtech 21 did not file a complete annual report on May 1, 2014, and had not made 

that filing by May 15.  On May 12, Comtech 21 filed an incomplete annual report.  

The Company’s complete filing was received on May 23.   

 

3 On May 29, 2014, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 against Comtech 21, 

calculated as $100 per day from May 1 to May 15. 

 

4 On August 11, 2014, Comtech 21 responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment 

admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written 

information provided.  The Company stated, “Short staff, never had a violation 

before.” 

 

5 On August 12, 2014, Staff filed a response recommending the Commission deny the 

Company’s request for mitigation.  Staff explained that the Company was delinquent 

in filing its annual report in 2013, and received and paid a mitigated penalty at that  
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time.  Staff also noted that the Company failed to request mitigation of the penalty 

within 15 days, as required. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-120-382 requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have been aware of 

the need to file an annual report, particularly given the Commission’s reminders and 

the Company’s past violation. 

 

7 The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and denies the Company’s 

request for mitigation.  The Commission considers a number of factors when 

entertaining a request for mitigation, including the company’s compliance history, 

and the likelihood the violation will recur.1  The Company failed to request mitigation 

until more than 60 days after the penalty assessment was issued, well beyond the 15-

day window provided for such requests.  Moreover, because the Company has a 

history of noncompliance and previously received a mitigated penalty, the violation is 

likely to recur absent an escalated penalty.  Accordingly, the Commission finds the 

penalty amount to be a reasonable means of compelling the Company’s compliance 

with Commission filing deadlines and requirements.    

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 

 

8 (1) The request of Comtech 21, LLC for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is 

DENIED.   

 

9 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than September 2, 2014. 

 

  

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 20, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

       Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission’s website. 

 


