
Service Date: December 20, 2024 

BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 
Against  

LEMYN’S LEGACY INC. D/B/A 
SPOKANE PARTY BUS, 

in the amount of $6,700 

DOCKET TE-240799 

ORDER 01 

DENYING MITIGATION; IMPOSING 
AND SUSPENDING PENALTY  

BACKGROUND 

1 On November 14, 2024, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 
(Commission) assessed a $6,700 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Lemyn’s Legacy 
Inc. d/b/a Spokane Party Bus (Spokane Party Bus or Company) for violations of 
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, which adopts by reference 
sections of Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) Part 391 - Qualifications of 
Drivers and 49 C.F.R. Part 395 – Hours of Service of Drivers.1 The Penalty Assessment 
included: 

• a $6,000 penalty for 60 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) for using a driver
not medically examined and certified; and

• a $700 penalty for seven violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) for failing to
require driver to make a record of duty status.

2 On December 3, 2024, Spokane Party Bus filed a response to the Penalty Assessment 
admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty amount (Application). In 
its Application, the Company acknowledged the violations and stated that it has taken 
action to correct the violations and prevent further occurrences. 

3 On December 13, 2024, Commission staff (Staff) filed a reply recommending the 
Commission deny the Company’s Application in part. In its response, Staff 
acknowledges that the Company was cooperative throughout the investigation, took 

1 This Order refers to Commission safety regulations that adopt federal rules only by the 
applicable section of Title 49 C.F.R. 
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corrective action, and expressed a desire to operate within regulation. However, Staff also 
notes that the violations are repeat violations from the Company’s previous safety 
investigation in September 2019 during which time the Commission issued a penalty 
assessment, provided technical assistance regarding those violations, and granted 
mitigation in Docket TE-190790. Staff recommends that the Commission suspend a 
$3,500 portion of the penalty subject to the following conditions: a) Staff perform a 
follow-up investigation in two years or as soon thereafter as practicable, b) Spokane Party 
Bus not incur any repeat violations of critical regulations upon re-inspection, and c) The 
Company must pay the $3,200 portion of the penalty that is not suspended within 10 days 
or file a mutually agreeable payment arrangement with Staff.  

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 Washington law requires charter and excursion carriers to comply with federal safety 
requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. In some cases, Commission 
requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 
penalties for first-time violations.2 Violations defined by federal law as “acute” or 
“critical” meet this standard.3  

5 Violations are considered “acute” when non-compliance is so severe that immediate 
corrective action is required regardless of the overall safety posture of the company. 
Violations classified as “critical” are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management 
controls. Acute violations discovered during safety inspections are subject to penalties of 
$1,500 per violation,4 and critical violations are subject to penalties of $100 per 
violation.5  

6 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 
including whether a company introduces new information that may not have been 
considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 
convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 
ensuring a company’s compliance.6 We address the violations below. 

2 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 
Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 
3 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 
4 See RCW 81.04.530. 
5 See RCW 81.04.405. 

6 Enforcement Policy ¶ 19. 
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7 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $6,000 penalty for 60 
violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) for using a driver not medically examined and 
certified. Staff shares that the Company has supplied Staff with evidence of a new 
medical certificate, and the company states that it has implemented a tracking procedure 
for reviewing driver medical certification expiration. However, staff also notes that the 
Company was previously found to have violated 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) and was granted 
mitigation in Docket TE-190790. As a result, Staff recommends that the Commission 
deny the Company’s current request for mitigation.  

8 We agree with Staff’s recommendation. While the Company has corrected the violations 
and taken action to prevent recurrence, these are recurring violations, and the company 
was already granted mitigation for the same infractions in Docket TE-190790. The 
Company’s request for mitigation is denied. 

9 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1). The Penalty Assessment includes a $700 penalty for seven 
violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) for failing to require driver to make a record of duty 
status. Staff shares that the Company has supplied Staff with evidence of a current time 
sheet for its driver, and the company states that it has implemented a tracking procedure 
for reviewing driver records of duty status. However, staff notes that the Company was 
previously found to have violated 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) and was granted mitigation in 
Docket TE-190790. As a result, Staff recommends that the Commission deny the 
Company’s current request for mitigation. 

10 We agree with Staff’s recommendation. While the Company has corrected the violations 
and taken action to prevent recurrence, these are recurring violations, and the company 
was already granted mitigation for the same infractions in Docket TE-190790. The 
Company’s request for mitigation is denied. 

11 Suspension. We also agree with Staff that suspending a portion of the penalty is 
appropriate. The Commission’s interest in any enforcement action is compliance, and we 
find that suspending a portion of the penalty subject to the conditions recommended by 
Staff creates further incentive for the Company to comply with safety regulations. 
Accordingly, we suspend a $3,500 portion of the penalty for a period of two years to be 
waived subject to the conditions that: 1) Staff conducts a follow up investigation in two 
years or as soon thereafter as practicable, 2) Spokane Party Bus not incur any repeat 
violations of critical regulations upon re-inspection, and 3) the Company must pay the 
$3,200 portion of the penalty that is not suspended within 10 days, or file a mutually 
agreeable payment arrangement with Staff.  
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FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

12 (1) The Commission is an agency of the state of Washington, vested by statute with
authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service
companies, including passenger transportation companies, and has jurisdiction
over the parties and subject matter of this proceeding.

13 (2) Spokane Party Bus is a passenger transportation company subject to Commission
regulation.

14 (3) Spokane Party Bus committed 60 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) by using a
driver not medically examined and certified.

15 (4) The Commission should penalize Spokane Party Bus $6,000 for 60 violations of
49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a).

16 (5) Spokane Party Bus committed seven violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) by
failing to require driver to make a record of duty status.

17 (6) The Commission should penalize Spokane Party Bus $700 for seven violations of
49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1).

18 (7) The Commission should suspend a $3,500 portion of the penalty for a period of
two years, and then waive it, subject to the conditions listed in paragraph 11.

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 

19 (1) Spokane Party Bus’s request for mitigation of the $6,700 penalty is DENIED.

20 (2) The Commission suspends a $3,500 portion of the penalty for a period of two
years, and then waives it, subject to the conditions that: 1) Spokane Party Bus
must either pay the $3,200 portion of the penalty that is not suspended or file a
mutually agreeable payment plan with Staff within 10 days of this Order; and 2)
Spokane Party Bus not incur any repeat violations of critical regulations upon
reinspection.

21 (3) Commission Staff will conduct a follow-up investigation in two years or as soon
thereafter as practicable of Spokane Party Bus’s operations after the effective date
of this Order.
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22 (4) If Spokane Party Bus fails to satisfy any of the conditions in paragraph 11 of this
order or fails to comply with the terms of the payment arrangement, if applicable,
the entire unpaid portion of the $6,700 penalty will become immediately due and
payable without further Commission order

23 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-903(2)(e). 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective December 20, 2024. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

JEFF KILLIP 
Executive Director and Secretary 

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 
decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 
Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 
posted on the Commission’s website.  
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