Service Date: October 4,2019

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-190681
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000

Investigation # 8009
Duaine Birkhofer UBIL: 313 013 420
Frontier Communications Northwest, Inc. Phone: (425) 999-0182

13923 Smokey Point Blvd.
Marysville, WA 98270

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Frontier
Communications Northwest, Inc., (Frontier or Company) has violated Revised Code of
Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(3)(a) by failing to provide reasonably accurate information
regarding the location of underground facilities to an excavator within the required two business
days after receipt of notification of excavation. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations
of any provision of the chapter are subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial
violation and not more than $5,000 for each subsequent violation within a three-year period.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law
Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty of
$1,000 against you on the following grounds:

On August 13, 2019, the Safety Committee heard the complaints for cases 19-061
and 19-062 against Frontier regarding alleged violations of the Washington state
dig law, RCW 19.122, that occurred on December 27, 2018, and June 13, 2019. The
complainant in this case was Austin’s Lend-A-Hand Corp (Austin’s Lend-A-Hand).
The Safety Committee determined that Frontier committed the following violations:

e Two violations of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) for failing to provide reasonably
accurate information as to the location of underground facilities within two -
business days on the above dates.

The Safety Committee recommends that the Commission assess a $6,000 penalty
against Frontier, as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for the first violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) that occurred on
December 27, 2018; and

e $5,000 penalty for the second violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) that occurred on
June 13, 2019.

Commission regulatory staff (Staff) reviewed the Safety Committee’s determination
and conclusions regarding the violations on December 27, 2018, and June 13, 2019,
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and conducted an independent investigation that included obtaining additional
information that was not available for the Committee’s consideration at the time of
the review. Staff found that Frontier violated RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) on June 13,
2019. Staff’s investigation determined that here was insufficient evidence to
support a finding that Frontier violated RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) on December 27,
2018. Staff based its decision on the following information provided by the Safety
Committee and Staff’s investigation:

19-061

On December 20, 2018, Austin’s Lend-A-Hand submitted utility locate request
#18536674 for 832 New Morning Rd., Camano Island, Washington. On December
27,2018, Austin’s Lend-A-Hand arrived at the jobsite and discovered a lack of
utility markings on the ground within the identified excavation area. Austin’s Lend-
A-Hand contacted Frontier’s contracted locator, who was dispatched to the site and
subsequently located and marked other underground utilities within the excavation
area. Frontier’s contracted locator contended that, at the time of the locator’s initial
response within the required two business days, its locator indicated on the ground
that Frontier’s utilities were outside the excavation area after reviewing maps that
showed the area was clear. There was insufficient evidence to determine whether or
not these markings were present. Therefore, Staff cannot confirm that the alleged
violation occurred.

19-062

On June 5, 2019, Austin’s Lend-A-Hand submitted utility locate request #19235521
for 495 Tillicum Way, Camano Island, Washington. On June 13, 2019, Austin's
Lend-A-Hand arrived at the jobsite and discovered a lack of Frontier underground
utility markings on the ground near a utility pole within the identified excavation
area, despite markings indicating that the area was clear. Austin’s Lend-A-Hand
contacted Frontier’s contracted locator, who was dispatched to the site and
subsequently located and marked additional underground utilities within the
excavation area. Photographs and documentation submitted to the Safety
Committee by both parties support the allegation, and Staff’s subsequent
investigation concluded that Frontier failed to provide reasonably accurate
information to the excavator about the location of its underground utilities in the
excavation area within the required two business days of the locate request.
Additionally, the investigation found that at the time of the initial utility locate,
Frontier’s locator lacked sufficient information to determine whether or not the
additional utilities near the utility pole within the excavation area belonged to
Frontier or another telecommunications company, and therefore failed to provide
reasonably accurate information when it identified the excavation site as clear of
Frontier utilities.

Staff recommends the Commission accept the Safety Committee’s recommendation
for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) that occurred on June 13, 2019, and
assess a $1,000 penalty against Frontier for failing to provide reasonably accurate
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information within two business days about the location of its underground utilities,
as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19, 122.030(3)(a) that occurred on June 13,
2019.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are
sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe that the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from
the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

It you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the $1,000 amount due;
¢ Request a hearing to contest the violation(s); or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 4, 2019.
/s! Rayne Pearson

RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division
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I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making falsgstatm%én &
under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the mattees Set forthm
below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the folldg@vmg =
statements. 9 _%

%[g[ | 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of
é the penalty. TRwENT WL 2E PRECEEN A \(\MW\EN’V ASKNEE
Necor g T2 B mﬁﬁﬂv N S

[ ] 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I
describe below:

[ 1 a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ] b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

[ ] 3. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced
for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ] b) Taskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

[ declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

b
Dated: :0 ! l 6‘ (Q [Month/Day/Year], at \ \{,\}fv Lvad N ‘\,\.}f {\ [City, State]
\om Ntvoheey
Name of Respondent (Compiny) — please print Slgnatule of Apphcant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime,



and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution
under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”





