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ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO 

$500; IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING 

PENALTY 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On July 2, 2019, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) 

assessed a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Lee A. Lamb d/b/a Lamb’s 

Disposal (Lamb’s Disposal or Company) for critical-type safety violations discovered 

during a June 2019 compliance review conducted by Commission staff (Staff).1 The 

Penalty Assessment includes:   

 a $700 penalty for seven violations of 49 CFR § 391.45(a) for using a driver not 

medically examined and certified; 

 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) for failing to maintain a 

driver qualification file for its driver; 

 a $100 penalty for 30 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) for failing to require its 

driver to prepare records of duty status using the appropriate method; and 

 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) for failing to keep 

minimum records of vehicle inspection and maintenance. 

2 On August 1, 2019, Lamb’s Disposal responded to the Penalty Assessment, admitting the 

violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information 

provided. In its response, the Company requested the Commission assess a reduced 

penalty because the violations have been corrected, and because the penalty would create 

                                                 
1 The Penalty Assessment cites violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, WAC 

480-15-560, and WAC 480-15-570. WAC 480-15-560 and -570 adopt by reference sections of Title 49 

Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.). Accordingly, Commission safety regulations with parallel federal 

rules are hereinafter referenced only by the applicable provision of Title 49 C.F.R. 
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a financial burden due to the Company’s small size. The Company provided detailed 

explanations of the steps it took to correct each violation.   

3 On August 13, 2019, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part. Because the violations 

are first-time offenses and the Company has taken significant steps to ensure compliance 

going forward, Staff recommends the Commission reduce the assessed penalty from 

$1,000 to $500. Due to the Company’s small size, Staff recommends suspending a $250 

portion of the penalty for a period of two years, and then waiving it, subject to the 

condition that the Company not commit any repeat violations of the safety regulations 

cited in the Penalty Assessment. 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 Washington law requires solid waste collection carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.2 Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which 

are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.3  

Critical violations discovered during safety inspections are subject to penalties of $100 

per violation.4  

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.5  

6 Here, the Company has corrected each of the violations at issue and put controls in place 

to ensure that they will not reoccur. In light of these circumstances, we agree with Staff’s 

recommendation and find that assessing a reduced penalty of $500 will be equally 

effective in ensuring the Company’s compliance going forward. 

                                                 
2 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

3 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

4 See RCW 81.04.405. 

 
5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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7 We also agree with Staff’s recommendation to suspend a $250 portion of the penalty 

subject to the condition that the Company does not commit any repeat violations of the 

safety regulations cited in the Penalty Assessment. Lamb’s Disposal is small company 

that reported $35,522 in gross revenue for 2018. The Commission’s goal in any 

enforcement proceeding is to increase compliance, not to create an insurmountable 

financial burden for a small company. Accordingly, we suspend a $250 portion of the 

penalty for a period of two years, and then waive it, subject to the condition that the 

Company not commit any repeat violations of 49 CFR § 391.45(a), 49 C.F.R. § 

391.51(a), 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1), or 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b). 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

8 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including solid waste collection carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

9 (2) Lamb’s Disposal is a solid waste collection carrier subject to Commission 

regulation. 

10 (3) Lamb’s Disposal violated 49 CFR § 391.45(a) when its employee drove on seven 

occasions without a valid medical certificate. 

11 (4) Lamb’s Disposal violated 49 CFR § 391.51(a) by failing to maintain a driver 

qualification file for its driver. 

12 (5) Lamb’s Disposal violated 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) when it failed to require its 

driver to prepare records of duty status using the appropriate method on 30 

occasions. 

13 (6) Lamb’s Disposal violated 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) by failing to keep minimum 

records of vehicle inspection and maintenance. 

14 (7) Lamb’s Disposal has corrected each of the violations cited in the Penalty 

Assessment, and has put controls in place to prevent each of the violations from 

reoccurring.  

15 (8) The Commission should assess a $500 penalty against Lamb’s Disposal for 39 

violations of Title 49 C.F.R. 

16 (9) Lamb’s Disposal is a small company that reported $35,522 in gross revenue for 

2018. 
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17 (10) Due to the Company’s small size, the Commission should suspend a $250 portion 

of the penalty for a period of two years, and then waive it, subject to the condition 

that Lamb’s Disposal does not commit any repeat violations of 49 CFR § 

391.45(a), 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a), 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1), or 49 C.F.R. § 

396.3(b). 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

18 (1) Lee A. Lamb d/b/a Lamb’s Disposal’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty 

is GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $500.   

19 (2) The Commission suspends a $250 portion of the penalty for a period of two years, 

and then waives it, subject to the condition that Lee A. Lamb d/b/a Lamb’s 

Disposal does not commit any repeat violations of 49 CFR § 391.45(a), 49 C.F.R. 

§ 391.51(a), 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1), or 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b). 

20 (3) Lee A. Lamb d/b/a Lamb’s Disposal must pay the $250 portion of the penalty that 

is not suspended within 10 days of the effective date of this Order. 

21 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-903(2)(e). 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 19, 2019. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

MARK L. JOHNSON 

Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


