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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-180312
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000

Michael Swope

Swope Excavating & Construction, LLC
22015 SE 358" St.

Auburn, WA 98092

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes you have
violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to provide the required
notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before excavating. RCW

©19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service
and causes damage to a underground gas utility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than ten
thousand dollars for each violation.

Commission pipeline safety staff (Staff) reviewed damage reports submitted by Puget Sound
Energy (PSE) and information obtained from the One Call 811 database. Based on Staff’s review,
the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you in the amount of
$1,000 on the following grounds: :

On December 29, 2017, Swope Excavating & Construction, LLC (Swope Excavating or
Company) was using a track hoe to excavate at 3108 S Masgachusetts St.in Seattle,  (D¢ATVED k|
Washington. While digging, Swope Excavating ¢amaged="PSE gas line wheritbermtzmt  EXPoSED A
/pa-l-l-ed-ﬂp-ﬂ-ﬂ-tee-l-eas-'n-rgr PSE reported Swope Excavating did not have a valid locate ticket
T\'\E $TECL prior to beginning work. Staff investigated and found that the only utility locate request
submitted was by a different contractor, Greg’s Concrete Construction, on November 28,

It 0 :
(AN [R5 6,'_ 2017. Staff determined that Swope Excavating failed to submit itsown utility locate request
S Hauwov) THAT prior to excavating.

¢ NT
1T HMo gt—?-)s Staff found that Swope Excavating committed one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) by
Pilovie oo . failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator service not less than two
wole €1 OV} business days before excavating. Staff recommends the Commission assess a $1,000
D ?QC”‘ 0 Foll penalty against Swope Excavating for one violation,as follows:

\0SC < P KOFE - $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on
LLQT‘O‘) '\?‘r December 29, 2017.

(L ‘
TH c W vt Staff’s research indicates that Swope Excavating has an insignificant history of requesting utility
locates and that the violdtion may be the result of the Company’s lack of knowledge of the
requirements of Washington state’s Dig Law. Considering these circumstances, Staff recommends
that the Commission offer to suspend the $1,000 penalty for a period of one year subject to the
conditions that (1) Swope Excavating field crews involved in excavation, including Company
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management, attend Dig Safe training provided through the National Utility Contractors
Association (NUCA), within 12 months of the date of the Penalty Assessment; and (2) Swope
Excavating commits no further violations of RCW 19.122 within the next 12 months.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000 with an
offer to suspend the full $1,000 penalty amount subject to the conditions that (1) Swope
Excavating management and all crews complete NUCA Dig Safe Training within 12 months of
this Notice, and (2) Swope Excavating commits no further violations of RCW 19.122 within one
year of this Notice. The Commission will waive the suspended penalty amount of $1,000 if Swope
Excavating complies with both conditions. If Swope Excavating fails to comply with either of
these conditions, the $1,000 deferred penalty will become immediately due and payable, in
addition to any new penalties that the Commission might assess for additional violations. -

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient
~ to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty assessment through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact concerning the violation require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing.
Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of the reasons supporting
that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the contest.

If you admit the violation but believe there is a reason for the violation that should excuse you
from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any
request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

‘e Pay the $1,000 amount due; or

e Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultlmately waive, the full
$1,000 penalty amount due subject to the conditions that all Swope Excavating employees,
including management, attend the Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 12-
months of this Notice; submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within
five (5) days of attending the training; and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122
within the next year; or

e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of any or all of the v1olat10n(s) or

e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.
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Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utec.wa.gov. If you are

~ unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 18, 2018.

 /s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-180312

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I he1eby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11. Payment of penalty. I admit that the Violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment
of the penalty

D Wt ApMT T@T TE VOATWd  OteokrED, But¥
[ ] 2. |Accept conditions. Fadinr-thet-the-vietation-eeearred \[-also accept the Commission’s -
offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the full $1,000 penalty amount on the
conditions that all Swope Excavating employees, including management, attend the Dig
Safe training provided through NUCA within 12-months of this penalty assessment;
submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of /
attending the training; and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within the next
yea PUMCILSTA{M)MQ; AN @Nos DL THAT TeiS Gevt. 1S Foe
ColoPo@AT10NS Ry  BUREAVCRATS, OF THE (GIH—>
[ ] 3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

pd
p)

[ ] a) Iaskforahearingto present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ] b) Iask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 14 Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

[ 1 a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ]b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 0| @B 2618  Month/Day/Year),at _[{1¥% ¢ 0N LYA [City, State]
Mg HaEC  StoolE | %@’

Name of Respondent (company) — please print <ignature of Applicant




RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”






