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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

ALCLS, LLC 

 

in the amount of $1,600 

DOCKET TE-170713 

 

ORDER 01 

 

    ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO    

    $600 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

1 On June 20, 2017, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $1,600 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against ALCLS, LLC 

(ALCLS or Company) for 12 critical violations of Washington Administrative Code 

(WAC) 480-30-221, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. Part 382 related to controlled 

substances and alcohol use and testing and Part 395 related to driver hours of service. 1     

2 On June 28, 2017, ALCLS responded to the Penalty Assessment, admitting the violations 

and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information provided. In its 

response, the Company explained that the violations have been corrected, and the penalty 

would create a severe financial hardship.   

3 On June 30, 2017, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part. The Penalty Assessment 

includes a $1,500 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 382.115(a) and a $100 penalty 

for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a). Because these are first-time violations and 

the Company promptly took corrective action, Staff recommends the Commission reduce 

the assessed penalty from $1,600 to $600. 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 Washington law requires auto transportation carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

                                                 
1 WAC 480-30-221 adopts by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, Commission 

safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the applicable 

provision of 49 C.F.R. 
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inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.2 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.3 Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which 

are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.4   

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.5 We address each violation category in turn. 

6 49 C.F.R. 382.115(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $1,500 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. 382.115(a) because the Company failed to implement an alcohol 

and controlled substances testing program prior to commencing commercial motor 

vehicle operations. In its response, the Company explained that it allowed its testing 

program to lapse because the Company’s owner planned to retire. The Company has 

since re-enrolled in a testing program and provided proof of its enrollment to Staff. 

7 Staff recommends the Commission assess a reduced penalty of $500 in light of the 

Company’s financial situation. We agree. Staff’s response notes that the Company 

reported gross revenues of approximately $39,000 in 2016. The Commission’s goal in 

any enforcement proceeding is to obtain compliance, not create an insurmountable 

financial burden for a small company. In addition, the Company promptly took corrective 

action. Accordingly, we assess a reduced penalty of $500 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

382.115(a). 

8 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for 11 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) because ALCLS allowed its driver to drive without 

making a record of duty status on 11 occasions in the six months preceding the 

                                                 
2 See RCW 81.04.405. 

3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

4 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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compliance review. In its response, the Company acknowledged the violations and 

explained that they have since been corrected.  

9 Staff notes in its response that, because these are first-time violations, it recommended a 

“per category” rather than “per violation” penalty; accordingly, no further penalty 

reduction is warranted. We agree and find that a single $100 penalty is appropriate for 11 

first-time violations.  

10 To reduce the financial impact of the penalty, the Company may work with Staff to 

establish mutually agreeable payment arrangements. 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

11 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including auto transportation carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

12 (2) ALCLS is an auto transportation carrier subject to Commission regulation. 

13 (3) ALCLS violated 49 C.F.R. 382.115(a) when it commenced operations prior to 

implementing an alcohol and/or controlled substances testing program.  

14 (4) ALCLS should be penalized $500 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 382.115(a). 

15 (5) ALCLS violated 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) when it allowed its driver to drive 

without making a record of duty status on 11 occasions in the six months 

preceding the compliance review. 

16 (6) ALCLS should be penalized $100 for 11 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a). 

17 (7) ALCLS should be permitted to file jointly with Staff a mutually agreeable 

arrangement for paying the $600 penalty.   

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

18 (1) ALCLS, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $1,600 penalty is GRANTED, in 

part, and the penalty is reduced to $600.   
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19 (2) ALCLS, LLC must either pay the $600 penalty or file jointly with Staff a 

proposed payment arrangement no later than August 1, 2017. 

20 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 11, 2017. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


