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ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO $50 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all charter and excursion 

carriers. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and 

pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face penalties of $100 for each 

violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s 

continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Nicholas Papadimas (Company) filed an incomplete report on March 25, 2016, and did 

not make a complete filing until May 4. On June 22, the Commission assessed a penalty 

of $200 against Nicholas Papadimas, calculated as $100 per business day from May 2 to 

May 4. 

 

3 On August 1, 2016, Nicholas Papadimas responded to the Commission’s penalty 

assessment, admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written 

information provided. The Company explained that it mailed its annual report on March 

20, 2016, shortly before the owner – who is a sole proprietor – left the country. When the 

owner returned, he received notice that the report was incomplete and promptly provided 

the missing information.  

 

4 On August 4, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $50, because the Company filed its annual report prior to 

receiving the penalty assessment and has no prior violations of WAC 480-30-071.  
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DISCUSSION 

5 WAC 480-30-071 requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports by May 1 

of each year, or the first business day thereafter. Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured it filed a 

complete report prior to the deadline. 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, Nicholas Papadimas corrected the violation 

by filing its annual report and paying its regulatory fee prior to receiving the penalty 

assessment. In addition, this is the Company’s first violation of WAC 480-30-071 since it 

became regulated in 2013. Although the Company has a relatively brief history of 

compliance, we have routinely granted mitigation for first-time violations. In light of 

these factors, the Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $50. 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) Nicholas Papadimas’s request for mitigation of the $200 penalty is GRANTED in 

part, and the penalty is reduced to $50. 

 

8 (2) The $50 penalty is due and payable no later than August 26, 2016. 

 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 12, 2016. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website. 

 


