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INC. 
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ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO 

$250 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated 

telecommunications companies. The forms included a reminder that companies must file 

their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face 

penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing 

violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Ionex Communications North, Inc. (Ionex or Company) did not file its annual report on 

May 2, 2016, and had not made that filing by May 16. On June 14, the Commission 

assessed a penalty of $1,000 against Ionex, calculated as $100 per business day from May 

2 to May 16. 

 

3 On June 23, 2016, Ionex filed an incomplete annual report and paid the required 

regulatory fee. On July 5, Ionex responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, 

admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information 

provided. In its response, the Company states, “… communications has undergone a 

restructuring and the duties for compliance for the WA annual report moved from Kansas 

to Atlanta. This restructuring delayed the preparation of this annual report. This is the 

first time the company is late on this annual filing and we appreciate your consideration 

with relief of the penalty. We will take measurements so this will not occur in the future.” 

On July 13, the Company filed a complete annual report. 

 

4 On July 19, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $250, because the Company has no prior violations of WAC 

480-120-382. 
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DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-120-382 requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year, or the first business day thereafter. 

Companies are responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and the Company 

should have ensured its annual report was timely filed despite its corporate restructuring. 

 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, Ionex corrected the violation by filing its 

annual report and paying the required regulatory fee. In addition, this is the Ionex’s first 

violation of WAC 480-120-382 since it became regulated in 2010; given the Company’s 

history of compliance, the violations are unlikely to recur. In light of these factors, the 

Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $250. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) Ionex Communications North, Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty 

is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250. 

 

8 (2) The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than August 24, 2016. 

 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 10, 2016. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website. 

 


