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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

MORRISON MOVING & STORAGE 

CO., INC. 

 

in the amount of $1,000 
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ORDER GRANTING  

MITIGATION TO $500 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-15-480. On February 27, 2015, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report 

and regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers. The forms included a reminder 

that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 

2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of 

continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Morrison Moving & Storage Co., Inc. (Morrison Moving or Company) filed an 

incomplete annual report on April 15, 2015, and had not made a complete filing by May 

15. On May 29, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 against Morrison Moving, 

calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On June 9, 2015, Morrison Moving filed a complete annual report. On June 11, the 

Company responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting the violations 

and requesting mitigation based on the written information provided. The Company 

explained that it initially submitted its annual report with incorrect mileage information.  

 

4 On June 24, 2015, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $50 per day, or $500. Although the Company received and paid a penalty for 

violations of WAC 480-15-480 in 2006, Staff supports a reduced penalty based on the 

Company’s recent history of compliance. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-15-480 requires permitted household goods carriers to file annual reports and 

pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for complying 
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with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its complete annual 

report was timely filed.   

 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, Morrison Moving promptly corrected the 

deficiency when it was notified of its error. In addition, this is the Company’s first 

violation of WAC 480-15-480 in nine years. Given the Company’s recent history of 

compliance, the violations are not likely to recur. Accordingly, the Commission will 

exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $500.  

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) Morrison Moving & Storage Co., Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 

penalty is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $500.   

 

8 (2) The $500 penalty is due and payable no later than July 21, 2015. 

 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 9, 2015. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website. 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 


