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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

ESTABLISHED MOVING & 

STORAGE 

OF SEATTLE, INC., D/B/A 

ESTABLISHED MOVING & 

STORAGE, 

 

in the amount of $1,600 

DOCKET TV-220592 

 

ORDER 01 

 

    DENYING MITIGATION  

 

BACKGROUND 

1 On November 10, 2021, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) entered Order 01 in Dockets TV-210741 and TV-210742, which, among 

other things, approved Established Moving & Storage of Seattle, Inc., d/b/a Established 

Moving & Storage’s (Established Moving or Company) safety management plan (SMP) 

and imposed a $15,000 penalty, a $10,000 portion of which was suspended for two years 

subject to the conditions that: a) the Company timely pay the portion of the penalty that 

was not suspended, and b) that the Company does not incur any repeat acute or critical 

violations upon reinspection. 

2 On August 17, 2022, the Commission assessed a $1,600 penalty (Penalty Assessment) 

against Established Moving for 16 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 

480-15-570, which adopts by reference Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).1 

The Penalty Assessment includes: 

• a $200 penalty for two violations of WAC 480-15-555 for failing to conduct or 

retain paperwork containing criminal background checks (a repeat violation); 

• a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 390.19(b)(2) for failing to file the 

MCS-150 registration form each 24 months according to the schedule; 

• a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.21(a) for using a driver who 

has not furnished a completed employment application; 

 
1 WAC 480-15-560 adopts by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, Commission 

safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the applicable 

provision of 49 C.F.R. 
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• a $1,100 violation for 11 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) for failing to 

require drivers to make records of duty status; and 

• a $100 violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.9(d)(3) for failing to maintain a completed 

inspection form for 12 months from the date of inspection at the carrier’s 

principal place of business or where the vehicle is housed. 

3 On August 24, 2022, Commission staff (Staff) filed a letter in Docket TV-210741, 

informing the Commission that, upon reinspection, Staff had discovered that Established 

Moving had incurred repeat violations of critical regulations. On September 8, the 

Commission issued a letter informing the Company that the $10,000 portion of the 

penalty that had been suspended was immediately due and payable as a result of 

Established Moving’s failure to meet the conditions under which it would be waived. 

4 On August 31, 2022, the Company filed with the Commission an application for 

mitigation of penalties (Application) in this Docket, admitting the violations and 

requesting that the $1,600 penalty be reduced based on the written information provided. 

The Company explains in its Application that it is continuing to make improvements in 

its safety management protocol, that it is still suffering economically from the effects of 

the COVID-19 pandemic, and that the penalty on top of the reinstated $10,000 penalty in 

Docket TV-210741 would create a substantial financial hardship.  

5 On September 7, 2022, Staff filed a response recommending the Commission deny the 

Application. In its response, Staff points out that the SMP approved in Docket TV-

210741 details how Established Moving implemented a system to prevent future 

violations of WAC 480-15-555, and that these repeat violations should not have occurred. 

Staff states further that it is willing to work with the Company on an agreed payment 

arrangement that incorporates both the penalty in this Docket and the reinstated penalty 

in Docket TV-210741. 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

6 Washington law requires household goods carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.2 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

 
2 See RCW 81.04.405. 
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penalties for first-time violations.3 Violations defined by federal law as “critical” meet 

this standard.4 

7 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether a company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring a company’s compliance.5 The Commission also considers whether the 

violations were promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and the 

likelihood the violation will recur.6 We address each violation category below. 

8 WAC 480-15-555. The Penalty Assessment assessed a $200 penalty for two violations of 

WAC 480-15-555 for failing to conduct, or retain paperwork containing, criminal 

background checks. In its Application, Established Moving acknowledges the violation, 

but provides no new information or evidence to explain why the violation occurred.  

9 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree. An employee 

with an unknown criminal history raises serious concerns about personal safety and the 

security of customer belongings. Although the Company has since corrected the 

violations, it failed to introduce any new information or explain extenuating 

circumstances that would warrant a reduced penalty. The Company’s failure to conduct 

or retain paperwork containing criminal background checks is not only a violation of 

WAC 480-15-555, but a failure to abide by the Company’s own SMP. Accordingly, we 

find that the $200 penalty assessed for two violations of WAC 480-15-555 is appropriate 

in light of the circumstances and conclude that no mitigation is warranted.  

10 49 C.F.R. § 390.19(b)(2). The Penalty Assessment assessed a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. § 390.19(b)(2) for failing to file the MCS-150 registration form 

every 24 months according to the required schedule. In its Application, Established 

Moving acknowledges the violation, but provides no new information or evidence to 

explain why the violation occurred. 

 
3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶ 12, 15 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

4 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

5 Enforcement Policy ¶ 19. 

6 Enforcement Policy ¶15. 
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11 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree. The Company 

had sufficient notice of the filing requirements and has failed to introduce any new 

information or explain extenuating circumstances that would warrant a reduced penalty. 

Accordingly, we find that the $100 penalty assessed for one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 

390.19(b)(2) is appropriate and no mitigation is warranted. 

12 49 C.F.R. § 391.21(a). The Penalty Assessment assessed a $100 penalty for one violation 

of 49 C.F.R. § 391.21(a) for using a driver who has not completed and furnished an 

employment application. In its Application, Established Moving acknowledges the 

violation, but provides no new information or evidence to explain why the violation 

occurred. 

13 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree. Companies who 

use drivers who have not completed employment applications could be putting their 

customers, their customers’ belongings, and the traveling public at risk. The Company 

knew or should have known about the employment requirements and has failed to 

introduce any new information or explain extenuating circumstances that would warrant a 

reduced penalty. Accordingly, we find that the $100 penalty assessed for one violation of 

49 C.F.R. § 391.21(a) is appropriate and no mitigation is warranted. 

14 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1). The Penalty Assessment assessed a $1,100 penalty for 11 

violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) for failing to a require drivers to make a record of 

duty status on 11 occasions. In its Application, Established Moving acknowledges the 

violation, but provides no new information or evidence to explain why the violations 

occurred. 

15 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree. The Company 

knew, or should have known, about the requirement to make a record of duty status. The 

Company has failed to introduce any new information or explain extenuating 

circumstances that would warrant a reduced penalty. Accordingly, we find that the 

$1,100 penalty assessed for 11 violations of 49 C.F.R. §395.8(a)(1) is appropriate and no 

mitigation is warranted. 

16 49 C.F.R. § 396.9(d)(3). The Penalty Assessment assessed a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.9(d)(3) for failing to maintain completed inspection forms 

for 12 months from the date of inspection at the carrier’s principal place of business or 

where the vehicle is housed.  

17 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree. The Company 

knew, or should have known, about the requirement to maintain inspection records and 
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has failed to introduce any new information or explain extenuating circumstances that 

would warrant a reduced penalty. Accordingly, we find that the $100 penalty assessed for 

one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.9(d)(3) is appropriate and no mitigation is warranted. 

18 Payment Arrangement. The Commission’s primary interest in any enforcement action 

is compliance, not creating an insurmountable financial encumbrance on a Company still 

recovering from the economic hardships resulting from a global pandemic. Accordingly, 

Established Moving should work with Staff to jointly file an agreed payment arrangement 

that incorporates the $1,600 penalty in this Docket and the $10,000 reinstated penalty in 

Docket TV-210741 by September 28, 2022. 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

19 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including household goods carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

20 (2) Established Moving is a household goods carrier subject to Commission 

regulation. 

21 (3) Established Moving violated WAC 480-15-555 when it failed to conduct or retain 

paperwork containing criminal background checks on two occasions. 

22 (4) Established Moving should be penalized $200 for two violations of WAC 480-15-

555. 

23 (5) Established Moving violated 49 C.F.R. § 390.19(b)(2) when it failed to file the 

MCS-150 registration form each 24 months according to the schedule. 

24 (6) Established Moving should be penalized $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

§ 390.19(b)(2). 

25 (7) Established Moving violated 49 C.F.R. § 391.21(a) when it used a driver who had 

not completed and furnished an employment application. 

26 (8) Established Moving should be penalized $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

§ 391.21(a). 

27 (9) Established Moving violated 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) when it failed to require 

drivers to make a record of duty status on 11 occasions. 
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28 (10) Established Moving should be penalized $1,100 for 11 violations of 49 C.F.R. 

§ 395.8(a)(1). 

29 (11) Established Moving violated 49 C.F.R. § 396.9(d)(3) when it failed to maintain a 

completed inspection form for 12 months from the date of inspection at the 

carrier’s principal place of business or where the vehicle is housed. 

30 (12) Established Moving should be penalized $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

§ 396.9(d)(3). 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

31 (1) Established Moving & Storage of Seattle, Inc., d/b/a Established Moving & 

Storage’s request for mitigation of the $1,600 penalty is DENIED.  

32 (2) The Company must work with Staff to file an agreed plan to pay the total penalty 

of $11,600 no later than September 28, 2022. 

33 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 20, 2022. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

AMANDA MAXWELL 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


