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GRANTING MITIGATION TO $8,000 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
1 On March 20, 2018, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $15,200 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against 3Z Movers LLC 
(3Z Movers or Company) for 165 critical violations of Washington Administrative Code 
(WAC) 480-15-550, WAC 480-15-555, and WAC 480-15-560 through 570, which adopt 
by reference sections of Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).1 The Penalty 
Assessment includes: 
 

• a $7,200 penalty for 72 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) for using a 
driver not medically examined and certified;  

• a $7,200 penalty for 72 violations of WAC 480-15-550 for failing to  
maintain proper levels of cargo insurance;  

• a $400 penalty for four violations of WAC 480-15-555 for failing to 
acquire criminal background checks of four prospective employees;  

• a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a) for failing to 
maintain a driver qualification file for each driver it employs;  

• a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a)(1) for failing 
to require its driver to made a record of duty status using the appropriate 
method;  

• a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.3(b) for failing to 
keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance; and  

• a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) for using a 
commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. 

 

                                                 
1 WAC 480-15-560 and -570 adopt by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, 
Commission safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the 
applicable provision of 49 C.F.R. 
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2 On April 17, 2018, the Company responded to the Penalty Assessment, admitting the 
violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information 
provided. The Company described the corrective actions it took and provided supporting 
documentation for a portion thereof. The Company also explained why some of the 
violations occurred. 
 

3 On April 19, 2018, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 
Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part. Staff recommends the 
Commission reduce the penalties assessed with respect to medical certification and cargo 
insurance violations by half, resulting in a total assessed penalty of $8,000. Staff further 
recommends that $4,000 of the reduced penalty be suspended for a period of two years, 
and then waived, subject to the following conditions: 1) the Company may not incur any 
repeat violations of critical regulations and 2) the Company must pay the $4,000 portion 
of the penalty that is not suspended. Staff will conduct a follow-up investigation in two 
years to review the Company’s safety management practices. 
 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 Washington law requires household goods carriers to comply with federal safety 
requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 
inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.2 In some cases, Commission 
requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 
penalties for first-time violations.3 Violations defined by federal law as “critical” meet 
this standard.4  

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 
including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 
considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 
convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 
ensuring the company’s compliance.5 We address each violation category below. 

                                                 

2 See RCW 81.04.405. 

3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 
Commission ¶12, 15 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

4 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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6 49 C.F.R Part 391.445(a) and WAC 480-15-550. The Penalty Assessment includes a 
$7,200 penalty for 72 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) because the Company used a 
driver not medically examined and certified. Upon receiving notice of this violation, the 
driver completed the medical examination and the Company provided a copy of medical 
examiner’s certificate to Staff. 

7 The Penalty Assessment also includes a $7,200 penalty for 72 violations of WAC 480-
15-550 because 3Z Movers failed to maintain proper levels of cargo insurance. The 
Company has since obtained cargo insurance through its insurance carrier, National 
Indemnity Corporation, and provided a copy of the policy to Staff. 

8 Staff recommends that the Commission reduce the penalty for these violation categories 
from $7,200 to $3,600 each because the Company took prompt corrective action. Staff 
also notes that these are first-time violations. Finally, Staff is sensitive to the Company’s 
financial situation and the impact of a significant penalty on a small business. The 
Company, which has one driver and one commercial motor vehicle, reported $50,400 in 
gross revenue in 2017. 

9 We agree with Staff’s recommendation to mitigate this portion of the penalty. These are 
first-time violations that the Company has since corrected, and the original penalty 
amount represents nearly one-third of the Company’s revenue. The Commission’s goal in 
any enforcement proceeding is to obtain compliance, not create an insurmountable 
financial burden for a small company. Accordingly, we reduce the penalty for these 
violation categories by half, and assess a total penalty of $7,200 for 72 violations of 49 
C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) and 72 violations of WAC 480-15-550. 

10 WAC 480-15-555. The Penalty Assessment includes a $400 penalty for four violations of 
WAC 480-15-555 for failing to acquire criminal background checks of four prospective 
employees. The Company stated that one of the violations is for an employee (Ali) who 
obtained a background check in connection with a household goods permit application. 
3Z Movers further explained that two employees are no longer with the Company, and 
that it is in the process of acquiring a criminal background check for the fourth employee. 

11 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty because the Company 
failed to provide any evidence that it took corrective action. In addition, Staff was unable 
to verify that Ali was subject to a criminal background check in connection with a 
household goods application because Ali was not named in the application 3Z Movers 
referenced in its mitigation request.  

12 We agree with Staff’s recommendation. Although these are first time violations, the 
Company did not provide documentation to substantiate that it corrected the violations or 
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put a policy in place to prevent violations on a going-forward basis. Accordingly, we 
conclude no penalty reduction is warranted. 

13 49 C.F.R. 391.51(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one 
violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a) because the Company failed to maintain a driver 
qualification file for its driver. The Company states that it has now compiled a driver 
qualification file that includes all of the necessary records. The Company explained that it 
had some of these documents at the time of the investigation but they were not filed 
correctly. 

14 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree. While the 
Company promptly corrected this first-time violation, the Commission assessed the 
minimum penalty for this violation. We conclude no further penalty reduction is 
warranted. 

15 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a)(1). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one 
violation of 49 C.F.R. 395.8(a)(1) because the Company failed to require its driver to 
made a record of duty status using the appropriate method (49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(b)). 
The Company states that it would like more information regarding this safety violation 
for future compliance, as the Company is unaware of the occurrences in which it did not 
meet the short haul exemption. 

16 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty because the Company has 
failed to correct this violation, but will offer the Company further technical assistance in 
this area. We agree with Staff’s recommendation. Because these were first-time 
violations, the Commission assessed a penalty by type of violation rather than per 
occurrence. We conclude no further penalty reduction is warranted.  

17 49 C.F.R. Part 396.3(b). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one 
violation of 49 C.F.R. 396.3(b) because the Company failed to keep minimum records of 
inspection and vehicle maintenance for its commercial vehicle. The Company states that 
it had the vehicle maintenance documentation but did not present it to the investigator. 
The Company states it is working on organizing the documentation into a vehicle 
maintenance file and will continue to maintain the file going forward. 

18 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty because the Company has 
not established that it corrected the violation. Staff explains that the Company failed to 
provide an example of a file, a list of the documents it keeps in such a file, or any other 
supporting evidence. We agree with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission assessed 
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the minimum penalty for this violation. As such, we conclude that no further penalty 
reduction is warranted. 

19 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one 
violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) because the Company used a commercial motor 
vehicle not periodically inspected.  The Company asserts it had the “vehicle inspected 
and maintained regularly including brakes, oil, tires, lights, engine, transmission, etc.” 

20 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. Staff responds that “all 
components of a required Department of Transportation annual vehicle inspection report 
are not covered during a routine service.” We agree. While this was a first-time violation, 
the Commission assessed the minimum penalty for this violation. Accordingly, we 
conclude that no further penalty reduction is warranted.  

21 Penalty Suspension. The Commission considers several factors in determining whether 
to suspend a portion of a penalty, including whether it is a first-time penalty for the same 
or similar violations, and whether the company has taken specific actions to remedy the 
violations and avoid the same or similar violations in the future, such as purchasing new 
technology, making system changes, or training company personnel.6 Another factor we 
consider is whether the company agrees to a specific compliance plan that will guarantee 
future compliance in exchange for suspended penalties.7 

22 In this case, penalties were assessed for first time violations. In addition, the Company 
has taken action to prevent several of the violations from reoccurring. Suspending a 
portion of the penalty with the conditions proposed by Staff will both increase 
compliance and provide a strong incentive to avoid violations in the future. Accordingly, 
we suspend a $4,000 portion of the penalty for two years, and then waive it, subject to the 
following conditions: (1) The Company may not incur any repeat violations of critical 
regulations; and (2) the Company must pay the $4,000 portion of the penalty that is not 
suspended. Staff will conduct a follow-up safety investigation in two years to review the 
Company’s safety management practices. If the Company fails to comply with either of 
the conditions, the suspended penalty will become immediately due and payable without 
further Commission order. 
 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

                                                 
6 Id. at ¶20. 

7 Id. 
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23 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 
authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 
companies, including household goods carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 
parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

 
24 (2) 3Z Movers is a household goods carrier subject to Commission regulation. 

 
25 (3) 3Z Movers violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) when it used a driver not medically 

examined and certified.  
 

26 (4) The Commission should penalize 3Z Movers $3,600 for 72 violations of 49 
C.F.R. Part 391.45(a).  
 

27 (5) 3Z Movers violated WAC 480-15-555 when it failed to obtain and maintain 
proper levels of cargo insurance. 
 

28 (6) The Commission should penalize 3Z Movers $3,600 for 72 violations of WAC 
480-15-555.  
 

29 (7) 3Z Movers violated WAC 480-15-555 when it failed to acquire criminal   
  background checks on four prospective employees.  
 

30 (8) The Commission should penalize 3Z Movers $400 for four violations of WAC 
  480-15-555. 
 

31 (9) 3Z Movers violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a) when it failed to maintain a driver 
  qualification file for its driver. 
 

32 (10) The Commission should penalize 3Z Movers $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R.  
  Part 391.51(a). 
 

33 (11) 3Z Movers violated 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a)(1) when it failed to require its driver  
  to made a record of duty status using the appropriate method. 
 

34 (12) The Commission should penalize 3Z Movers $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 
  Part 395.8(a)(1). 
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35 (13) 3Z Movers violated 49 C.F.R. Part 396.3(b) when it failed to keep minimum 
  records of inspection and vehicle maintenance. 
 

36 (14) The Commission should penalize 3Z Movers $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 
   Part 396.3(b). 
 

37 (15) 3Z Movers violated 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) when it used a commercial motor  
  vehicle not periodically inspected. 
 

38 (16) The Commission should penalize 3Z Movers $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R.  
  Part 396.17(a). 
 

39 (17) The Commission should assess a total penalty of $8,000 for 165 critical violations  
  of WAC 480-15 and Title 49 C.F.R. 
 

40 (18) The Commission should suspend a $4,000 portion of the penalty for a period of  
  two years, and then waive it subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 22,  
  above. 
 

 
ORDER 

 
THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 
41 (1) 3Z Movers LLC’s request for mitigation of the $15,200 penalty is GRANTED, in 

part, and the penalty is reduced to $8,000.   
 

42 (2) The Commission suspends a $4,000 portion of the penalty for a period of two  
  years, and then waives it, subject to the following conditions: (1) 3Z Movers LLC  
  must either pay the $4,000 portion of the penalty that is not suspended or file 
  jointly with Staff a proposed payment arrangement within 10 days of the effective  
  date of this Order; and (2) 3Z Movers may not incur any repeat violations of  
  critical regulations. 

 
43 (3) Commission Staff will conduct a follow-up review of 3Z Movers LLC’s  

  operations two years after the effective date of this Order. 
 

44 (4) If 3Z Movers LLC fails to satisfy any of the conditions in paragraph 42 of this  
  order, or fails to comply with the terms of the payment arrangement, if applicable,  
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  the entire unpaid portion of the $8,000 penalty will become immediately due and  
  payable without further Commission order. 
 

45 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 
 
DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 10, 2018. 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

 
 

MARK L. JOHNSON 
      Executive Director and Secretary 
 
NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 
decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 
Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 
posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


