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BACKGROUND 

1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all charter and excursion 

carriers. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and 

pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face penalties of $100 for each 

violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s 

continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

2 Karst Stage, Inc. (Karst Stage or Company) filed an incomplete annual report on March 

30, 2016, and did not make a complete filing by May 16. On June 20, the Commission 

assessed a penalty of $1,000 against Karst Stage, calculated as $100 per business day 

from May 2 to May 16. 

3 On June 28, 2016, Karst Stage filed a complete annual report. On July 1, Karst Stage 

responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment and requested mitigation based on the 

written information provided. In its response, the Company states, “I believe Karst Stage 

is being unduly punished for an infraction in our 2015 annual report for the following 

reasons. Our report was filed on time and received by your dept. on March 30th along 

with our regulatory fee. All spaces were filled out except the correct UBI # and our 

interstate mileage. Your office attempted to contact me by email to address the 

oversights, which I appreciate but your request went right into my junk mail and was 

deleted. If I would have received this email or even just a phone call I could have easily 

corrected the problem and avoided this $1,000 fine.” 

4 On July 18, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation because the Company attempted 

to file its annual report well before the deadline and has no prior violations of WAC 480-

30-071. 
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DISCUSSION 

5 WAC 480-30-071 requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports by May 1 

of each year, or the first business day thereafter. Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its report 

was complete when it was originally filed.  

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, Karst Stage timely paid its regulatory fee, 

made a good faith effort to file its annual report by the due date, and has since corrected 

the violation by filing a complete report. In addition, this is the Company’s first violation 

of WAC 480-30-071 since it became regulated in 2014. In light of these factors, the 

Commission will exercise its discretion to grant full mitigation of the penalty. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

7 (1) Karst Stage, Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is GRANTED.   

8 (2) No penalty is due. 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 10, 2016. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

STEVEN V. KING 

Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   

 


