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ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO 

$250 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all household goods 

carriers. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and 

pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face penalties of $100 for each 

violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s 

continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 ABC Movers Seattle, LLC (ABC Movers or Company) did not file its annual report on 

May 2, 2016, and had not made that filing by May 16. On June 28, the Commission 

assessed a penalty of $1,000 against ABC Movers, calculated as $100 per business day 

from May 2 to May 16. 

 

3 On August 19, 2016, ABC Movers paid the required regulatory fee. Also on August 19, 

ABC Movers responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting the 

violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty. The Company did not include a 

written explanation with its request.  

 

4 On September 1, 2016, ABC Movers filed a complete annual report. 

 

5 On September 2, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a 

penalty reduction to $25 per day, or $250. Although the Company failed to respond to the 

penalty assessment within 15 days of receipt and failed to provide a written explanation 

as required, Staff recommends the Commission grant the Company’s request for 

mitigation, in part, because the Company has been active since 2014 and has no prior 

violations of WAC 480-15-480. 
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DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-15-480 requires household good carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year, or the first business day thereafter. Companies are 

responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have 

ensured its report was filed by the due date. 

 

7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, ABC Movers has since corrected the 

violation by filing its annual report and paying its regulatory fee. In addition, this is the 

Company’s first violation of WAC 480-15-480 since it became regulated in 2014. 

Although the Company has a relatively brief history of compliance and did not provide 

any explanation for its late filing, we have routinely granted mitigation for first-time 

violations. In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce 

the penalty to $250. 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 

 

8 (1) ABC Movers Seattle, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is 

GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250. 

 

9 (2) The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than September 21, 2016. 

 

10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective September 7, 2016. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website. 

 


