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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

ADVANCE RELOCATION EXPERT, 

LLC d/b/a A.R.E. 

 

in the amount of $700 

 

 DOCKET TV-160178 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION 

TO $400 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On February 24, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $700 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Advance Relocation 

Expert, LLC d/b/a A.R.E. (A.R.E. or Company) for seven violations of Washington 

Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. Part 391 

related to driver qualifications.     

 

2 On March 10, 2016, A.R.E. responded to the Penalty Assessment admitting the violations 

and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information provided. The 

Company’s owner, Austine Thompson, explained that he inadvertently allowed his 

medical certification card to expire, and was not aware of the requirement to maintain a 

driver qualification file for himself. Mr. Thompson has since renewed his medical 

certification card, created a driver qualification file, and voluntarily attended a safety 

training class.     

 

3 On March 15, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part. Staff explains that 

although all 11 violations cited in the Penalty Assessment are first-time offenses, seven 

warrant penalties because they present a risk of serious harm to the public. The Penalty 

Assessment includes a $600 penalty for six violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) and a 

$100 penalty for one violation of C.F.R. Part 391.51(a). Staff recommends the 

Commission assess a reduced penalty of $400. 
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DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

 

4 Washington law requires household goods carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.1 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.2 Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which 

are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.3   

 

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.4  

 

6 The Penalty Assessment includes a $600 penalty for six violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

391.45(b)(1) because Mr. Thompson drove on six occasions without being medically 

certified. In its response, the Company explained that it inadvertently overlooked the fact 

that Mr. Thompson’s medical certificate had lapsed, but he has since been recertified. 

Staff recommends the Commission mitigate this portion of the penalty to $300 because 

Mr. Thompson corrected the violation the day after the Commission performed the 

compliance review. We agree with Staff. Because the Company took prompt corrective 

action to cure the violation, we assess a reduced penalty of $50 per violation, or $300.   

 

7 The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 

391.51(a) for failing to maintain a driver qualification file for Mr. Thompson. Mr. 

Thompson explained that he mistakenly believed this requirement applied only to 

company employees, not company owners. Staff recommends the Commission deny the 

Company’s request for mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree with Staff’s 

recommendation. It is the Company’s responsibility to ensure compliance with 

Commission rules, and the Company was aware that its operations should mirror those 

outlined in the Commission’s publication, “Your Guide to Achieving a Satisfactory 

                                                 
1 See RCW 81.04.405. 

2 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

3 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

4 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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Safety Rating.” In addition, the Company did not introduce any new information that 

warrants a penalty reduction. Accordingly, we decline to mitigate this portion of the 

penalty.   

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

8 (1) Advance Relocation Expert, LLC d/b/a A.R.E.’s request for mitigation of the 

$700 penalty is GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $400.   

 

9 (2) The $400 penalty is due and payable no later than April 13, 2016. 

 

10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March 30, 2016. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website. The Commission will grant a late-filed request 

for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory explanation of 

why the person did not timely file the request. A form for late-filed requests is 

available on the Commission’s website. 


