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January 26, 2016

NOTICE ACCEPTING LATE RESPONSE TO PENALTY ASSESSMENT

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Roy Murphy
Docket D-150571

TO ALL PARTIES:

On August 10, 2015, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission)
issued Penalty Assessment D-150571 against Roy Murphy in the amount of $1,000, alleging
one violation of RCW 19.122.030(1)(a). The Penalty Assessment notified Mr. Murphy that
he must respond within 15 days of the date the Penalty Assessment was received and select
one of four options: pay the penalty, contest the violation, request mitigation, or attend
training. Parties who elect to attend training agree to pay a $200 portion of the penalty, attend
the National Utility Contractors Association “Dig Safe” training (Dig Safe training) within
90 days, and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) within the next 12
months. Provided each of those conditions are met, the remaining $800 portion of the penalty
is waived.

On September 30, 2015, Mr. Murphy filed an application for mitigation, requesting to attend
training and pay the $200 penalty. Mr. Murphy acknowledged his response was late, but
stated he did not receive a copy of the Penalty Assessment and was unaware of the
requirement to respond within 15 days. Mr. Murphy also stated he plans to attend Dig Safe
training and has contacted Commission staff (Staff) to confirm the training date.

On November 23, 2015, Staff filed a Response recommending the Commission accept Mr.

Murphy’s late response and grant his request. Staff explained that it believes Mr. Murphy
intends to comply with RCW 19.122 going forward.
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The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and will accept Mr. Murphy’s late
response to the Penalty Assessment. The Commission’s ultimate goal is compliance, and
allowing Mr. Murphy to attend Dig Safe training in exchange for a reduced penalty
conditioned on future compliance will best further that goal. Accordingly, Mr. Murphy must
pay the $200 penalty by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, February 9, 2016. Mr. Murphy must also
attend Dig Safe training within 90 days of the date of this Notice, and provide documentation
of his attendance within five days of completion.

THE COMMISSION GIVES NOTICE That the Commission accepts Roy Murphy’s
late response to Penalty Assessment D-150571. An $800 portion of the penalty will be
suspended subject to the following conditions: 1) Roy Murphy must pay the $200
reduced penalty by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, February 9, 2016; 2) Roy Murphy must
attend Dig Safe training within 90 days of the date of this Notice and provide
documentation of his attendance within five days of completing the training; and 3) Roy
Murphy must commit no further violations of RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) within one year of
the date of the Penalty Assessment. If each of these conditions are met, the Commission
will waive the suspended portion of the penalty. If Roy Murphy fails to meet any of
these conditions, the entire $1,000 penalty will become due and payable.

STEVEN V. KING
Executive Director and Secretary



