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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


July 28, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Apex Limo Service LLC

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TE-141051

Dear Mr. King:

On May 23, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket TE-141051 against Apex Limo Service LLC for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and excursion carriers to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.1

On June 5, 2014 Apex Limo Service LLC submitted a request for a hearing but failed to provide a written statement.2  On July 9, 2014 the commission issued a notice denying the request for hearing, but allowed for opportunity to submit reason(s) in support for application for mitigation within one week of the service date.3  In its Mitigation Request4 which was received by the commission on July 15, 2014, Apex Limo Service LLC does not dispute that the violation occurred.  The company provided a statement regarding the owner’s confusion regarding the UTC requirements and only became aware of the annual report requirement when he asked another company to purchase his vehicle.

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline.  On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated charter and excursion companies.  The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.
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On June 5, 2014, Apex Limo LLC filed the 2013 annual report and paid the required regulatory and late payment fees.  The company initial application was submitted on May 3, 2013.  No previous violations of WAC 480-30-071 are on commission record.  The UTC also recently adopted new rules requiring the annual report to be filed by May 1 while the regulatory fees remained due on December 31.  Despite the commission communication regarding these filing changes to all regulated charter and excursion companies, commission staff supports the company’s request for mitigation.  Staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of $200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services
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_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Apex Limo’s Hearing Request received on June 5, 2014
3See attachment C for a copy of the Notice Denying Request for Hearing sent on July 9, 2014
4See attachment D for a copy of Apex Limo’s Mitigation Request received on July 15, 2014

_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Apex Limo’s Hearing Request received on June 5, 2014
3See attachment C for a copy of the Notice Denying Request for Hearing sent on July 9, 2014
4See attachment D for a copy of Apex Limo’s Mitigation Request received on July 15, 2014
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

'NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-141051
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

Apex Limo Service LLC
4752, 172nd Street
Seatac. WA 98188

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and.
excursion carriers to file their annual reports. You did not file an anmual report by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continvance is a separate and distinct violation.
‘The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails o file ts report
after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all charter and excursion carriers registered in
‘Washington The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
‘companies to file annual reports by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated
that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The
deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You
did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Apex Limo Service LLC has not filed its 2013 annual report
or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from May 1 resulting
ina total penalty of $1,000.

‘Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission wil grant that request only if
‘material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request
Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. Ifthere is a reason for the
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violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at  hearing of in writing. A request for
‘mitigation must include  written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
‘mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
‘administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

‘You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

 Pay the amount due.
+ Requesta hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and.
Transportation Comumission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Aftomey General for collection, which may file suit in tate court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-30-171 to cancel your certificate to
operate as  charter and excursion carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 23, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141051

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
Statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent o testify to the
‘matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11  Paymentof penalty. T admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ JEnclosedS___inpayment of the penalty
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at www utc wa gov,
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons.
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T admit the violations. but I believe that the penalty should.
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 12) Taskfor a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above:
Tdeclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing.
including information T have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: [month/day/year], at [eity. state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9472020

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes  materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (3) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material s not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Pejury in the first degree is a class B felony.™
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it o the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72,020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. 1 am over the age of 18, am competent to testify t0 thg.
‘matters set forth below and 1 have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under=
oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Paymentof penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ ]Enclosed s in payment of the penalty Ed
B
[ ] Subnited my payment of _ onlineat wwte wa gov’

My confirmation number is.

i 2. Requestfor a hearing.  believe that one or more of th alleged violation did not
oceur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons,
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. T admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

R & 1ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) Task foraCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above:
1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the forcgoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 61| \X montdayiyeart,t S€AX A

Alnmad pleacawi
Rame of Respondent (company) — please print Sanature of Applicant
— AlEK Lanon s e

[eity, state]

RCW 9A.72.02(
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree ifin any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
clement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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'STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 5. Evergreen Park Dr. W, P.0. Box 47250 o Olympia, Washingfon 385047250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ wn. e wa gov
July 9, 2014

NOTICE DENYING REQUEST FOR HEARING
AND
NOTICE OF OPPORTUNITY TO SUBMIT REASON(S) IN SUPPORT OF
APPLICATION FOR MITIGATION
(By Wednesday, July 16, 2014)

RE:  Apex Limo Service LLC, Request for Mitigation of Penalty Assessment
Docket TE-141051

TO ALL PARTIES:

On May 23, 2014, the Washington Utlities and Transportation Commission
(Comuission) isstied and served Penalty Assessment TE-141051 against Apex Limo
Service LLC (Apex Limo or Company) in the amount of $1,000, alleging a violation of
WAC 480-30-071, which requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports
‘with the Commission by May 1 each year and pay regulatory fees annually on that date.

On June 5. 2014, Apex Limo filed with the Commission a request for hearing on the form
‘provided by the Commission. Apex Limo checked the box on that form indicating that
the Company believes that one or more of the violations did not occur for which penalties
‘were assessed. The form. however, conditions the opportunity for hearing on Apex Limo
‘providing a written statement of the reasons the Company believes the alleged violation
did not occur. Because Apex Limo failed to provide a basis for its request for a hearing,
the Commission denies that request. The Commission nevertheless will consider the
Company’s request for mitigation of the assessed penalty on the basis of a written
submission of the reasons supporting such mitigation if the Commission receives that
submission no later than one week from the date of this Notice.

THE COMMISSION GIVES NOTICE That Apes Limo’s request for hearing is
denied.
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Docket TE-141051

Hi, this Ahamd

leasawi , Tam the owner of Apex fimo LLC . Afier I fnish my college

and I get my degree I thought I find a better job, and fortunately I kept looking and
Looking to find 4 job match my degree and my education, but I have no luck, then a
friend of mine ik to me about if we can open a business which is the limousine service
‘which is not n sy profession, I thought any given a shot, 50 I bought this charter bus
from California j¢s made by Krista limousine wich is the best company in the world
making a limougine, because as like to start rights and logal, so l insured the bus and i
call the UTC to find about the requirerments so first we did the inspection, and the
inspector he wag shocked to see that nice bus like this as 1 said I like to strt ights, and
e put the bus i the business, I ind out there's a Lot of competition in that business

specially people|

g in school buses and they call them party bus, [ was shocked, 50 in

the first six monfh I never made any money, 1 was being $600 every month insurance,

and in the middl
cost me 13,006
for sale now, so

Of August last year the bus was Staling and I have the police report,its
Jfix t, 50 basically I did't use this bus for bubbly 4-5 trip, and having it
contact bay view limo ,if they can buy it from me, so they mention

about the report, i done it?, Then I close UTC, someone answer the phore and told me
L don'tto crivejthis bus out of the tate id. need o do the report , so for that reason 1

didn't do it and 1.

iave to experience about it just because of first year in this business, so

here I'm asking you, i you can fogive me because I rally didn't make any money from,

this bus for this j
me, since | arriv

b, 1 can provide you with my driver record, or anything you want about
to the United States I always do things legally because I love this

country and I ln‘:j the rules, 5o please I ask you to forgive me because I sill need to pay

this mopey for

‘Thanik you so muj
Ahmad Aleasawi|

y student loan,

for reading ty letter and sccept my apology, ?
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