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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

CLANCY’S TRANSFER & STORAGE 

 

in the amount of $100 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

DOCKET TV-140950 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING  

MITIGATION TO $25 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-15-480.  On February 28, 2014, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual 

report and regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers.  The forms included 

a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees 

by May 1, 2014, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules.  In 

the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation.  

RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Clancy’s Transfer & Storage did not file its annual report on May 1, 2014.  On June 4, 

the Commission assessed a penalty of $100 against Clancy’s Transfer & Storage, 

calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to May 2, the date the report was 

received. 

 

3 On June 9, 2014, Clancy’s Transfer & Storage responded to the Commission’s 

penalty assessment and requested mitigation based on the written information 

provided.  The Company explained that it mailed the report and regulatory fee on 

April 25, 2014, and believed that would be sufficient time to ensure both arrived by 

May 1. 

 

4 On June 20, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 because the Company has no prior infractions of WAC 480-15-480. 

 



DOCKET TV-140950  PAGE 2 

ORDER 01 

 

5 On June 26, 2014, after receiving Staff’s response to its mitigation request, Clancy’s 

Transfer & Storage remitted a $25 payment to the Commission. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-15-480 requires permitted household goods carriers to file annual reports 

and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have mailed its 

annual report in sufficient time to arrive at the Commission by close of business on 

May 1.   

 

7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation.  The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including a company’s history of compliance, whether the violation was promptly 

corrected, and the likelihood the violation will recur.1  This is Clancy’s Transfer & 

Storage’s first violation of WAC 480-15-480.  Because the Company attempted to 

comply with the May 1 filing deadline by mailing the annual report in advance of that 

date, the violation was promptly corrected, and only one violation accrued.  Finally, 

the Company has been regulated since 2003; given its history of compliance, the 

violation is not likely to recur.  In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise 

its discretion to reduce the penalty $25.  

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

8 (1) The request of Clancy’s Transfer & Storage for mitigation of the $100 penalty 

is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $25.   

 

9 (2) The penalty was paid in full on June 26, 2014. 

                                                 
1
 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 8, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission's website. 


