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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


July 28, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Bens Moving & Delivery Services, Inc.

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TV-140944

Dear Mr. King:

On June 4, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket TV-140944 against Bens Moving & Delivery Services, Inc. for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carrier companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.1

On June 12, 2014 Bens Moving & Delivery Services, Inc. submitted a request for a hearing but failed to provide a written statement.2  On July 7, 2014 the commission issued a notice denying the request for hearing, but allowed for opportunity to submit reason(s) in support for application for mitigation within one week of the service date.3  In its Mitigation Request4 which was received by the commission on July 14, 2014, Bens Moving & Delivery Services, Inc. does not dispute that the violation occurred.  The company provided a statement regarding financial hardship and foreclosure and claims “nothing to report except our loss”.

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline.  On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated household goods companies.  The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.
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As of July 25, 2014, Bens Moving and Delivery Service, Inc. has yet to file the 2013 Household Goods Annual Report.  The company has been active since September 5, 2013.  No previous violations of WAC 480-15-480 are on commission record.  Due to the significant financial hardship described by the company, staff supports the company’s request for mitigation.  Staff recommends a reduced total assessed penalty of $200 with the requirement the completed 2013 Household Goods Annual Report is submission to the commission within ten (10) business days.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services
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1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 4, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Bens Moving’s Hearing Request received on June 12, 2014
3See attachment C for a copy of the Notice Denying Hearing Request sent on July 7, 2014
4See attachment D for a copy of Ben Moving’s Mitigation Request received on July 14, 2014

_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 4, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Bens Moving’s Hearing Request received on June 12, 2014
3See attachment C for a copy of the Notice Denying Hearing Request sent on July 7, 2014
4See attachment D for a copy of Ben Moving’s Mitigation Request received on July 14, 2014
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSIO!

'NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-140944
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

Bens Moving & Delivery Services, Inc.
12040 Greenwood Ave N
Seatlle, WA 98133

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household.
‘2oods carrier companies to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1
You did not file an annual repart or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continvance is a separate and distinct violation.
‘The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-430 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file ts report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all household goods carrier companies
registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form
instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May
1. 2014, The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by
May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file
‘your annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Bens Moving & Delivery Services, Inc. has not filed its
2013 annual report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days
from May 1, resulting in a total penalty of $1.000.

‘Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
‘material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request
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Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. Ifthere is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing o in writing. A request for
‘mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWS1.04.405

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
‘mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

‘You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

 Pay the amount due.
+ Requesta hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and.
Transportation Comumission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Aftomey General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-15450 to cancel your permit to
operate as 2 household goods carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 4, 2014

DENNIS 1. MOSS
Administrative Law Judge
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-140944

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document. and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
Statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent o testify to the
‘matters set forth below and  have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11  Paymentof penalty. T admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ JEnclosedS___inpayment of the penalty
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at www utc wa gov,
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T admit the violations. but I believe that the penalty should.
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 12) Taskfor a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
Tdeclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing.
including information T have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: [month/day/year], at [eity. state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please priat Signature of Applicant
RCW 9472020

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes  materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material s not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Pejury in the first degree is a class B felony.™
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it o the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penakty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

1 have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
Statements under oath is a lass B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify o the
‘matters set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those matters. [ hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Paymentof penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ] Enclosed S in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of § __ online at www.ute.wa.eq
My confirmation number is

'8

 that one or more of the alleged violations did not
ibe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons

13

be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[/1;) T ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ 1b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: Gos|t014 ___ [month/day/year], at Seatlle A [eity, state]

Bows Moving avd iy Seaton tne,  orcal (et
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.0;
“Perjury in the first dogree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belicf that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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'STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300, Evergreen Park Dr. S.W, P.0. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 38504-7250
(360) 64-1160 o waw.atc.wa.gov
July 7. 2014

NOTICE DENYING REQUEST FOR HEARING
AND
'NOTICE OF OPPORTUNITY TO SUBMIT REASON(S) IN SUPPORT OF
APPLICATION FOR MITIGATION
(By Monday, July 14, 2014)

RE:  Bens Moving & Delivery Services, Inc.. Request for Mitigation of Penalty
Assessment, Docket TV-140944

TO ALL PARTEES:

On June 4. 2014, the Washington Utilties and Transportation Commission (Commission)
issued and served Penalty Assessment TV-140944 against Bens Moving & Delivery
Services, Inc. (Bens Moving or Company) in the amount of $1.000. alleging a violation
‘of WAC 480-15-480. which requires permitted household goods companies to file anmual
reports with the Commission by May 1 each year and pay regulatory fees annually on
that date.

On June 12, 2014, Bens Moving filed with the Commission a request for hearing on the
form provided by the Commission. Bens Moving checked. the box on that form
indicating that the Company believes that one or more of the violations did not occur for
‘which penalties were assessed. The form. however, conditions the opportunity for
hearing on Bens Moving providing a wriften statement of the reasons the Company
believes the alleged violation did not occur. Because Bens Moving failed fo provide a
basis for ts request for a hearing, the Commission denies that sequest. The Commission
nevertheless will consider the Company’s request for mifigation of the assessed penalty
on the basis of a written submission of the reasons supporting such mifigation if the
Commission seceives that submission no later than one week from the date of this Notice.

THE COMMISSION GIVES NOTICE That Bens Moving’s request for hearing is
denied.
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Ben's Moving and Delivery Service Inc.
UTC:0001903
Regarding Docket Number(s) 140944

Seattle, July 11,2014

To: Utilties and Transportation Commission,

>

This is aletter regarding the Notice of Penalties Incurred and Due for Violations of Laws and Rules-
Penalty and denial of our petition.

One of the reasons that we did not comply with the WA State on a timely manner was because during
the months of November, through Apri our family went through foreclosure and lost our house. We
had afierce battle with the lawyers and the bank but we couldn't save our home.

We were forced out of your property in February of 2014, and did not have a permanent residence until
late the first week of June. Craigslisttotally blocked us out of their website from November of 2013
through end of April 2014; therefore we did not have any business to report and we were financially
hurting and unable to hire a professional accountant but most of all we had nothing to report except our
loss. We had a very hard time this year and we haven't really started our business as we planned. Our
Craigslist's competitors have been flagging our company and that has prevented us from continuing our
business,

“This is our formal petition for a hearing. We would love to have a chance to make an appointment to
explain our financialsituation and the reasons for not filing the annual report by the deadiine, with that
sald, we'll be waiting for your response. Please feel free to contact us through email as well

This is our new business address, please make the appropriate changes. We are supposed to renew our
WA State License and we will provide our new address to them as well.

Ben's Moving and Delivery Service Inc.
11544 Greenwood Ave. N. Unit #1
Seattle, WA 98133
Bensmovingcof
206-673-6122
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