
[Service date July 18, 2014] 

 

BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

CRESCENT BAR, INC. 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

)

) 

DOCKET UW-140839 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER DENYING MITIGATION  

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires regulated water companies to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-110-505.  On February 28, 2014, 

the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed 

annual report and regulatory fee packets to all regulated water companies.  The forms 

included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their 

regulatory fees by May 1, 2014, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of 

Commission rules.  In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a 

separate violation.  RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Crescent Bar did not file its annual report on May 1, 2014, and had not made that 

filing by May 15.  On May 29, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 against 

Crescent Bar, calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On May 21, 2014, Crescent Bar filed its annual report and paid both its regulatory and 

late payment fees. 

 

4 On June 16, 2014, Crescent Bar responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment 

admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written 

information provided.  The Company apologized for its late filing, and stated it has 

never missed its filing deadline in the past, nor will it miss the deadline going 

forward.  The Company also stated the penalty will create a financial hardship. 

 

5 On June 13, 2014, Crescent Bar filed its annual report and paid its regulatory and late 

payment fees. 
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6 On June 30, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation because the Company was 

delinquent in 2013 and received a mitigated penalty at that time.   

 

DISCUSSION 

 

7 WAC 480-110-505 requires regulated water companies to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for complying 

with their legal obligations, and the Company should have been aware of the need to 

file an annual report, particularly given the Commission’s reminders and the 

Company’s past violation. 

 

8 The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and denies the Company’s 

request for mitigation.  The Commission may consider a number of factors when 

entertaining a request for mitigation, including a company’s history of compliance, 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, and the likelihood the violation will 

recur.1  Ultimately, the Commission’s goal is the Company’s compliance with its 

regulatory obligations.  Here, the Company received and paid a reduced penalty for a 

prior violation of WAC 480-110-505 in 2013.   Although the Company has since filed 

its annual report, the violations are likely to recur absent an escalated penalty.  

Accordingly, the Commission finds the penalty amount to be a reasonable deterrent to 

overlooking future filing deadlines and requirements. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

9 (1) The request of Crescent Bar, Inc. for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is 

DENIED.   

 

10 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than August 1, 2014. 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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11 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 18, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission's website. 


