STATEMENT OF ACCOUNT

Jeremiah Johnson Zachary Head

James-Johnson LLC dba Price Busters Plumbing

Receivable ID: 7260

Docket #: DG-230165 UTC Contact: Hagen, Joice

Date Due: 15 days after order

Approved Payment Plan

20907 Highway 99

Lynnwood, WA 98036

W) 19.122.055(Balance k			
W) 19.122.055(Balance brought forward			
Violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and caused damage to an underground gas facility.		Penalty			\$1,000.00	
076432	002635	Payment		(\$1,000.00)	\$0.00	4/21/2023
12	age to an unde	age to an underground gas facility.				

Received Records Management Apr 21, 2023

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:



OR

Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:

Enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.

Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.



OR

OR

Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$200 toward the payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission's offer to suspend and ultimately waive, the remaining \$800 penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

- Company management must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
- The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 0 Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and
- The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 0 twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.
- Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 3. I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):
 - a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide b) above.
- **Request mitigation.** I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 4. reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):
 - I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to a) an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide b) above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

[Month/Day/Year], at mwood [City, State] Dated: Name of Respondent (Company) - please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-230165 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation # 8682

EMAIL SERVICE

UBI: 603-388-617 Phone: (206) 809-7846

Jeremiah Johnson Zachary Head James-Johnson LLC, d/b/a Price Busters Plumbing 20907 Highway 99 Lynnwood, WA 98036 Pricebustersplumbing@gmail.com

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that James-Johnson, LLC, d/b/a Price Busters Plumbing (Price Busters or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and caused damage to an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, a review of the One Call Center database, and attempted communications with the Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Price Busters damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

Alleged Violation:

On September 29, 2022, Price Busters was excavating at 6247 51st Ave NE, Seattle, Washington. While excavating, Price Busters' workers struck and damaged an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on November 9, 2022, indicated that Price Busters was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-230165

Analysis

On September 29, 2022, Price Busters was excavating with hand tools at 6247 51st Ave, Seattle, and caused damage to a 5/8" natural gas line. The Gas First Responder (GFR) report from PSE stated that the company was doing sewer repairs and that it claimed to have a valid ticket. The ticket number provided was for a different address. The ELM report stated that the ticket provided #22432986 was submitted after the damage occurred and did not cover the area where the damage occurred. Staff attempted to collect further information from Price Busters, but the Company did not respond to Staff's email or telephone inquiries.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount for the violation:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Company workers, utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and could have resulted in serious injury and loss of property.

2. Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge regarding Washington State's dig law. Over the past 12 months, Price Busters has called in 75 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates the Company's knowledge of its requirements and responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning excavation.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.

Price Busters did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation when PSE filed a DIRT report following the damage incident.

4. The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company's actions going forward and its willingness to notify the One Call Center before beginning excavation.

5. The Companies Previous Violations and Penalties.

• Warning Letters

On June 26, 2020, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to Price Busters. The letter included detailed information about Washington state's underground utility damage prevention act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by Price Busters on April 2, 2020, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating.

• Penalty Assessments None.

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-230165

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Price Busters as follows:

- \$1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:
 - Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;
 - 2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending training; and
 - 3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
 - Price Busters management and the field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (<u>https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh</u>) within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
 - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending training; and
 - Price Busters must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-230165

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <u>https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</u> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).¹

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective March 24, 2023.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

¹ <u>https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.</u>