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IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING 

PENALTY  

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

1 On May 21, 2021, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) issued a Penalty Assessment (Penalty Assessment) against DDB LLC 

(DDB or Company) in the amount of $5,000, alleging one violation of Revised Code of 

Washington (RCW) 19.122.055 for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number 

locator service before excavating and subsequently causing damage to an underground 

natural gas facility. 

2 On June 23, 2021, DDB filed an application for mitigation, admitting the violation and 

requesting a decision based on the written information provided. In its request, the 

Company states that the ticket was called in “wrong” by a supervisor because “it was his 

personal home.”  

3 On June 25, 2021, Staff filed a response recommending the Commission deny the 

Company’s request for mitigation but suggesting that the Commission suspend $2,500 of 

the penalty for 12 months on the conditions that: (a) DDB Supervisors and field crew 

complete National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) Dig Safe Training within 90 

days; and (b) DDB commits no additional dig law violations within those 12 months. 

Staff explains that it is not convinced the Company has shown that it will prioritize dig 

safety based on the Company’s history of violations. Staff further stated that regardless of 

who called in the locate request, there was not a valid ticket for the site at the time of the 

damage incident. A previous ticket had expired and second locate request was called in 

the day following the damage incident.  
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DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) provides, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-

number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject 

to a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for each violation. Here, the Commission has assessed 

a reduced penalty of $5,000 for one repeat violation. 

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.1 

6 Here, Staff recommends the Commission deny mitigation but suspend half of the $5,000 

penalty, subject to conditions. We agree with Staff’s recommendation. DDB failed to 

introduce any new information that would warrant mitigation of the penalty. Companies 

that dig without first obtaining an underground utility locate put their employees, the 

public, and the facility operator’s employees at risk. The damage incident at issue could 

have resulted in a fire or an explosion. However, the Commission believes that Company 

employees’ commitment to dig safety would benefit from NUCA Dig Safe Training and 

a suspended portion of the penalty will provide incentive to attend training as well as 

additional incentive to comply with the requirements of RCW 19.122. Accordingly, the 

Commission assesses a $5,000 penalty against DDB and suspends $2,500 of the penalty 

for a period of 12 months from the date of this Order, at which point it will be waived, 

subject to the conditions that (a) DDB supervisors and field crew complete NUCA Dig 

Safe Training within 90 days of this Order; (b) DDB provides documentation of 

attendance to the Commission within five days of completing training; and (c) DDB 

incurs no additional dig law violations within 12 months.  

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) DDB LLC’s request for mitigation is DENIED.   

8 (2) The Commission assesses a $5,000 penalty and suspends $2,500 of the penalty for 

12 months, subject to the conditions listed in paragraph 6. 

 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013) at ¶19. 
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9 (3) DDB LLC must either pay the $2,500 portion of the penalty that is not suspended 

or file jointly with Staff a proposed payment arrangement within 10 days of the 

effective date of this Order. 

10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Lacy, Washington, and effective July 16, 2021. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

MARK L. JOHNSON 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


