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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

CREATIVE BUS, LLC, 

 

in the amount of $3,400 

DOCKET TE-220268 

ORDER 01 

GRANTING MITIGATION, IN PART; 

IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING 

PENALTY  

BACKGROUND 

1 On May 6, 2022, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) 

assessed a $3,400 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Creative Bus, LLC, (Creative 

Bus or Company) for violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, 

which adopts by reference sections of Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).1 

The Penalty Assessment includes: 

• a $1,500 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.115(a) for failing to 

implement an alcohol and/or controlled substances testing program on the date 

the employer begins commercial motor vehicle (CMV) operations;  

• a $1,500 penalty for three violations of 49 C.F.R. §382.301(a) for using a 

driver before the motor carrier has received a negative pre-employment 

controlled substance test result; 

• A $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 383.37(b) for knowingly 

allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing an employee to operate a CMV 

during any period in which the driver has a current commercial learner’s 

permit (CLP) or commercial driver’s license (CDL) disqualified by a State, 

has lost the right to operate a CMV in a State, or has been disqualified from 

operating a CMV; and 

• a $300 penalty for three violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) for using a driver 

not medically examined and certified. 

 
1 This Order refers to Commission safety regulations that adopt federal rules only by the 

applicable section of Title 49 C.F.R. 
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2 On May 11, 2022, Creative Bus filed a response to the Penalty Assessment admitting the 

violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty amount (Application). In its 

Application, the Company acknowledged the violations and stated that it has taken action 

to correct the violations and prevent further occurrences. 

3 On May 18, 2022, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s Application in part. In its response, Staff states that the 

Company submitted to Staff a safety management plan (SMP) that details the steps taken 

by the Company to remedy the violations and prevent future recurrence. Staff further 

recommends that the Commission suspend a portion of the penalty subject to the 

following conditions: a) Creative Bus must not incur any repeat violations of acute or 

critical regulations upon re-inspection in six months, and b) The Company must pay the 

portion of the penalty that is not suspended within 10 days of this Order or enter a 

mutually agreeable payment arrangement with Staff.  

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 Washington law requires charter and excursion carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.2 Violations defined by federal law as “acute” or 

“critical” meet this standard.3  

5 Violations are considered “acute” when non-compliance is so severe that immediate 

corrective action is required regardless of the overall safety posture of the company. 

Violations classified as “critical” are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management 

controls. Acute violations discovered during safety inspections are subject to penalties of 

$1,500 per violation,4 and critical violations are subject to penalties of $100 per 

violation.5  

 

2 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

3 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

4 See RCW 81.04.530. 

5 See RCW 81.04.405. 
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6 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether a company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring a company’s compliance.6 We address each violation category below. 

7 49 C.F.R. § 382.115.(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $1,500 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.115.(a) for failing to implement an alcohol and controlled 

substances testing program for all its commercial drivers. Staff states that the SMP 

submitted by the Company shows that the Company has enrolled in a testing program. 

Staff recommends that the Commission reduce the penalty to $750.  

8 We agree with Staff’s recommendation. The Company has corrected the violation and 

taken action to prevent recurrence. Accordingly, we reduce the penalty for this violation 

category by half and assess a total penalty of $750 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

§382.115(a). 

9 49 C.F.R. § 382.301(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $1,500 penalty for three 

violations of 49 C.F.R. § 382.301(a) for using a driver before the motor carrier has 

received a negative pre-employment controlled substance test result. The Company 

informed Staff that two of the employees at issue had resigned and that the Company 

would require a pre-employment test if the third employee returns to duty. Staff states 

that the Company failed to provide information on how it will prevent any future 

violations and recommends no mitigation of this penalty. 

10 We agree with Staff. Companies who use drivers who have not received negative 

controlled substance test results put their passengers and the traveling public at risk. The 

Company failed to prioritize the fitness of its employees and the safety of the public and 

failed to show how it will prevent recurrence of this violation. We thus deny the 

Company’s request to mitigate this portion of the penalty. 

11 49 C.F.R. § 383.37(b). The Penalty Assessment includes a $100 penalty for one violation 

of 49 C.F.R. § 383.37(b) for knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing an 

employee to operate a CMV during any period in which the driver has a current CLP or 

CDL disqualified by a State, has lost the right to operate a CMV in a State, or has been 

disqualified from operating a CMV. Staff informed the Commission that the Company 

 

6 Enforcement Policy ¶ 19. 
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stated that it has removed the driver in question from service but failed to state how the 

Company will prevent future occurrences of this violation. Staff recommends no 

mitigation of the penalty. 

12 We agree with Staff. Companies who knowingly allow a driver with a suspended CDL 

put their customers and the traveling public at risk. The Company’s failure to make sure 

that its drivers were qualified to operate its vehicles and failure to offer proof that it will 

successfully prevent further occurrences of this violation shows a lack of commitment to 

safety regulations. This is an acute violation requiring immediate corrective action that 

could allow a driver without the proper license endorsements to operate a commercial 

motor vehicle carrying passengers. Such violations are quantitatively linked to inadequate 

safety management controls and usually higher than average accident rates. We therefore 

deny the Company’s request to mitigate this portion of the penalty. 

13 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $300 penalty for three 

violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) for using a driver not medically examined and 

certified. Staff informed the Commission that the Company took corrective action and 

implemented protocols to ensure future compliance. Staff recommends the Commission 

reduce this portion of the penalty to $150. 

14 We agree with Staff. Drivers who are not medically certified may have an undocumented 

medical condition that puts the traveling public at risk. However, the Company acted to 

immediately correct the violation and has demonstrated that it has a system in place to 

prevent future violations. Accordingly, we reduce the penalty for this violation category 

by half and assess a total penalty of $150 for three violations of 49 C.F.R. §391.45(a). 

15 Suspension. We also agree with Staff that suspending a portion of the penalty is 

appropriate. The Commission’s interest in any enforcement action is compliance, and we 

find that suspending a portion of the penalty subject to the conditions recommended by 

Staff creates further incentive for the Company to comply with safety regulations. 

Accordingly, we suspend a $1,250 portion of the penalty for a period of two years and 

waive it subject to the conditions that: 1) Staff conducts a follow up investigation at least 

six months from the date of this Order, 2) Creative Bus must not incur repeat violations 

of acute or critical violations upon reinspection, and 3) the Company must pay the $1,250 

portion of the penalty that is not suspended within 10 days, or file a mutually agreeable 

payment arrangement with Staff.  
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FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

16 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including passenger transportation companies, and has jurisdiction 

over the parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

17 (2) Creative Bus is a passenger transportation company subject to Commission 

regulation. 

18 (3) Creative Bus committed one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.115(a) by failing to 

implement an alcohol and/or controlled substances testing program on the date the 

employer began CMV operations.  

19 (4) The Commission should penalize Creative Bus $750 for one violation of 49 

C.F.R. § 382.115(a).  

20 (5) Creative Bus committed three violations of 49 C.F.R. § 382.301(a) by using 

drivers before the motor carrier has received a negative pre-employment 

controlled substance test result. 

21 (6) The Commission should penalize Creative Bus $1,500 for three violations of 49 

C.F.R. § 382.301(a).  

22 (7) Creative Bus committed one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 383.37(b) by knowingly 

allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing an employee to operate a CMV 

during any period in which the driver has a current CLP or CDL disqualified by a 

State, has lost the right to operate a CMV in a State, or has been disqualified from 

operating a CMV. 

23 (8) The Commission should penalize Creative Bus $100 for one violation of 49 

C.F.R. § 383.37(b). 

24 (9) Creative Bus committed three violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) by using a 

driver not medically examined and certified on three occasions. 

25 (10) The Commission should penalize Creative Bus $150 for two violations of 49 

C.F.R. § 391.45(a). 
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26 (11) The Commission should suspend a $1,250 portion of the penalty for a period of 

two years, and then waive it, subject to the conditions listed in paragraph 15. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

27 (1) Creative Bus, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $3,400 penalty is GRANTED, 

in part, and the penalty is reduced to $2,500. 

28 (2) The Commission suspends a $1,250 portion of the penalty for a period of two 

years, and then waives it, subject to the conditions that: 1) Creative Bus, LLC, 

must either pay the $1,250 portion of the penalty that is not suspended or file a 

mutually agreeable payment plan with Staff within 10 days of this Order; and 2) 

Creative Bus, LLC, must not incur any repeat critical or acute violations upon 

reinspection. 

29 (3) Commission Staff will conduct a follow-up review of Creative Bus, LLC’s 

operations approximately at least six months after the effective date of this Order. 

30 (4) If Creative Bus, LLC, fails to satisfy any of the conditions in paragraph 28 of this 

order, or fails to comply with the terms of the payment arrangement, if applicable, 

the entire unpaid portion of the $1,250 penalty will become immediately due and 

payable without further Commission order 

31 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-903(2)(e). 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective June 7, 2022. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

AMANDA MAXWELL 

Executive Director and Secretary 

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 
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Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  


