Service Date: October 11, 2021

BEFORE THE WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment DOCKET TV-210157
Against
ORDER 01
SIMBA MOVERS LLC
DENYING MITIGATION

in the amount of $3,500

BACKGROUND

On March 17, 2021, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission) assessed a $3,500 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Simba Movers
LLC (Simba Movers or Company) for 34 violations of Washington Administrative Code
(WAC) 480-15-560, which adopts by reference Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations
(C.F.R.) Part 396, and two violations of WAC 480-15-570, which adopts by reference 49
C.F.R. Part 391.! The Penalty Assessment required that the Company either pay the
penalty, request a hearing, or request mitigation within 15 days of receiving the Penalty
Assessment. The Penalty Assessment includes:

e A 3$3,400 penalty for 45 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.15(a) for using a
disqualified driver.

e A $100 penalty for two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) for failing to keep
minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance.

On September 17, 2021, six months after the Penalty Assessment was issued, the
Company filed with the Commission an application for mitigation of penalties
(Application). In the Application, Simba Movers admits the violations and asks that the
penalty be reduced.

On September 20, 2021, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the
Commission deny the Application, but allow the Company to pay the penalty according
to a payment schedule detailed in the letter.

L WAC 480-15-560 and WAC 480-15-570 adopt by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R.
Accordingly, Commission safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced
only by the applicable provision of 49 C.F.R.
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DISCUSSION AND DECISION

Washington law requires household goods companies to comply with federal safety
requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety
inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.? In some cases, Commission
requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue
penalties for first-time violations.? Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which
are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.*

The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation,
including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been
considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that
convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in
ensuring the company’s compliance.> The Commission also considers whether the
violations were promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and the
likelihood the violation will recur.® We address each violation category in turn.

49 C.F.R. § 391.15(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $3,400 penalty for 34
violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.15(a) because the Company allowed a driver to operate a
commercial motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license on 34 occasions between
September 2, 2020, and February 15, 2021. In its Application, the Company provided no
additional information that would support mitigation.

Staff recommends the Commission deny mitigation of this penalty because the Company
failed to timely respond to the Penalty Assessment and failed to provide any information
supporting its request.

We agree with Staff’s recommendation and decline to mitigate this portion of the penalty.
The Penalty Assessment mitigation request form clearly states that if the Company does
not include reasons supporting its application, the request will be denied.

% See RCW 81.04.405.

% Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation
Commission 112 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy).

49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B.
® Enforcement Policy 119.
® Enforcement Policy 15.
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49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b). The Penalty Assessment includes a $100 penalty for two violations
of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) because the Company failed to maintain vehicle maintenance
filed for its two commercial motor vehicles. In its Application, the Company provided no
additional information that would support mitigation.

Staff recommends the Commission deny mitigation of this penalty because the Company
failed to timely respond to the Penalty Assessment and failed to provide any information
supporting its request. We agree and decline to mitigate this portion of the penalty.

Payment Schedule. Although the Company provided no information supporting or
explaining its request for mitigation, such requests are usually fueled by potential
financial hardship faced by companies assessed heavy fines. While the full penalty will
serve to impress upon the Company the importance of the federal regulations at issue and
the necessity of complying with Commission rules and procedures, a protracted payment
schedule can help mitigate the impact of the penalty on the Company. We therefore agree
with Staff’s recommendation to allow the Company to pay the penalty according to the
suggested payment schedule, as modified below:

Installment Due Date Amount
1 November 15, 2021 $200
2 December 15, 2021 $200
3 January 18, 2022 $200
4 February 15, 2022 $200
5 March 15, 2022 $200
6 April 15, 2022 $200
7 May 16, 2022 $200
8 June 15, 2022 $200
9 July 15, 2022 $200
10 August 15, 2022 $200
11 September 15, 2022 $200
12 October 17, 2022 $200
13 November 15, 2022 $200
14 December 15, 2022 $200
15 January 17, 2023 $200
16 February 15, 2023 $200
17 March 15, 2023 $200
18 April 17, 2023 $100




12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

DOCKET TV-210157 PAGE 4
ORDER 01

If Simba Movers fails to pay any installment by the due date, the entire balance,
including the suspended penalty, will become due and payable immediately. Simba
Movers may make additional payments in advance of the payment due dates or pay an
increased amount on the due dates, but no additional payment or increased amount will
relieve the Company of its obligation to make its timely monthly installment until the full
amount of $3,500 is satisfied.

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

Q) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with
authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service
companies, including household goods companies, and has jurisdiction over the
parties and subject matter of this proceeding.

2 Simba Movers is a household goods company subject to Commission regulation.

(3)  Simba Movers violated 49 C.F.R. § 391.15(a) when it allowed its driver to drive
without a valid driver’s license on 34 occasions between September 2, 2020, and
February 15, 2021.

4 Simba Movers should be penalized $3,400 for 34 violations of 49 C.F.R.
§ 391.15(a).

5) Simba Movers violated 49 C.F.R. § 3916.3(b) when it failed to maintain vehicle
maintenance files for its two commercial motor vehicles.

(6) Simba Movers should be penalized $100 for two violations of 49 C.F.R. §
396.3(b).

(7)  The Commission should assess a total penalty of $3,500 for 36 violations of WAC
480-15 and Title 49 C.F.R.

(8) The Commission should allow Simba Movers to pay the penalty in installments
according to the schedule set out in paragraph 11, above.

ORDER
THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

Q) Simba Movers LLC’s request for mitigation of the $3,500 penalty is DENIED.
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2 The $3,500 penalty is due and payable to the Commission in installments as set
out in paragraph 11, above.

3 If Simba Movers LLC fails to pay any installment by 5 p.m. on the date it is due,
the unpaid balance will immediately become due and payable without further
order by the Commission.

The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective October 11, 2021.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

AMANDA MAXWELL
Executive Director and Secretary

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for
decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for
Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is
posted on the Commission’s website.



