Service Date: November 21, 2018

BEFORE THE WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

In the Matter of Determining the Proper DOCKET TV-180844
Carrier Classification of, and Complaint
for Penalties Against ORDER 02

INITIAL ORDER CLASSIFYING
MOVING ART CORPORATION RESPONDENT AS HOUSEHOLD
GOODS CARRIER; ORDERING
RESPONDENT TO CEASE AND
DESIST; IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING
PENALTIES ON CONDITION OF
FUTURE COMPLIANCE

BACKGROUND

Synopsis. This is an Administrative Law Judge'’s Initial Order that is not effective unless
approved or allowed to become effective as described in the notice at the end of this
Order. If this Initial Order becomes final, Moving Art Corporation (Moving Art or
Company) will be assessed a financial penalty in the amount of $5,000 for two (2)
violations of RCW 81.80.075(1). A $4,750 portion of the penalty will be suspended for a
period of two years from the date of this order, then waived, subject to the condition that
Moving Art refrains from further operations as a household goods carrier without first
obtaining the required permit from the Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission). In addition, if this Initial Order becomes final, Moving Art will be
classified as a household goods carrier and required to permanently cease and desist
from operating as a household goods carrier without first obtaining a permit from the
Commission.

Nature of Proceeding. The Commission initiated this special proceeding to determine if
Moving Art has engaged, and continues to engage, in business as a common carrier for
transportation of household goods for compensation within the state of Washington
without possessing the permit required for such operations.

Procedural History. On October 17, 2018, the Commission entered Order 01, Order
Instituting Special Proceeding; Complaint Seeking to Impose Penalties; and Notice of
Mandatory Appearance at Hearing, pursuant to RCW 81.04.510, initiating this docket on
its own motion. The Complaint alleges that Moving Art violated RCW 81.80.075(1) by:

(1)  offering on at least one occasion to transport household goods within the
state of Washington;
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(2)  advertising household goods moving services within the state of
Washington on at least one occasion;

without the necessary permit required for such operations. On the same date, the
Commission issued a Subpoena and Subpoena Duces Tecum For Production of
Documents (Subpoenas) to the Company commanding Artur Dubonosov, Company
owner, or a Company representative to appear before the Commission at a special
proceeding scheduled to convene at 9 a.m. on November 13, 2018, in the Commission’s
offices at 1300 S. Evergreen Park Drive S.W., Olympia, Washington, and to bring the
documents specified in the Subpoenas.

Hearing. On November 13, 2018, the hearing convened as scheduled in Olympia,
Washington, before Administrative Law Judge Laura Chartoff.

Appearances. Brian Braun, Compliance Investigator, Olympia, Washington, represents
the Commission’s regulatory staff (Commission Staff).! Artur Dubonosov, Everett, WA,
represents the Company, pro se.

DISCUSSION

Applicable Law. RCW 81.80.010(5) defines “household goods carrier” as

a person who transports for compensation, by motor vehicle within this
state, or who advertises, solicits, offers, or enters into an agreement to
transport household goods.

RCW 81.80.075 prohibits household goods carriers from operating for
compensation in Washington without first obtaining the required permit from the
Commission. Upon proof of unauthorized operations, RCW 81.04.510 authorizes
the Commission to order the unpermitted company to cease and desist its activities.
Additionally, RCW 81.04.110 authorizes the Commission to file a complaint on its

! In adjudications the Commission’s regulatory staff participates like any other party, while an
administrative law judge or the Commissioners make the decision. To assure fairness, the
Commissioners and the presiding administrative law judge do not discuss the merits of the
proceeding with regulatory staff or any other party without giving notice and opportunity for all
parties to participate. See RCW 34.05.455.
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own motion setting forth any act or omission by a company that violates any law,
or any order or rule of the Commission.

RCW 81.80.075(4) subjects persons who engage in business as a household goods carrier
in the state of Washington without the required permit to a penalty of up to $5,000 for
each violation. In deciding the penalty amount to be imposed per violation, RCW
81.80.075(4)(b) requires the Commission to consider two factors: (i) willingness to
comply with the provisions of RCW 81.80.070 and the rules governing household goods
carriers contained in WAC 480-15 and (ii) compliance history.

Stipulation Presented by Parties. At hearing, Artur Dubonosov, owner, agreed that
Moving Art has been operating as a household goods carrier in the state of Washington
without the required permit. The Company offered to transport household goods on at
least one occasion and also advertised to transport household goods on at least one
occasion.

Mr. Dubonosov has agreed to permanently shut down and cease operations as a
household goods carrier, as defined by WAC 480-15, without first obtaining a permit
from the Commission.

Penalties. Under RCW 81.04.075(4), Commission Staff is authorized to seek a penalty of
up to $10,000 against the Company. Based upon the above-noted stipulation, Staff now
seeks a lesser penalty of $5,000 and, on the condition that the Company honors its pledge
of compliance by maintaining a permit from the Commission, seeks to have $4,500 of the
penalty suspended for two years, then waived.

At the hearing, Mr. Dubonosov requested that the penalty be further reduced. Mr.
Dubonosov testified that he did not receive the initial compliance letter from Commission
Staff explaining that he must cease and desist operating as a household goods carrier
unless and until he obtains a permit from the Commission. Mr. Dubonosov claimed that
had he known he needed a permit to operate lawfully, he would have immediately ceased
operating upon learning his activities were prohibited. Mr. Dubonosov further testified
that a $500 penalty would create a financial hardship because his wife recently had a
baby.

We agree with Staff’s recommendation that the Commission should impose a $5,000
penalty for two violations, which is consistent with how the Commission treats similarly
situated companies. We also agree with Staff that the Company’s compliance history is a
negative factor, making a suspended penalty appropriate as a tool to ensure Mr.
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Dubonosov does not re-enter the household goods moving business without first
obtaining the required permit. We find, however, that several factors weigh in favor of
suspending a larger portion of the penalty than originally recommended by Staff. First,
these are first-time violations. Second, Mr. Dubonosov credibly testified that he did not
receive the original cease and desist letter and was unaware that he needed a permit.
Finally, Mr. Dubonosov testified that a $500 penalty would be a hardship at this time.
Under these circumstances, we conclude that requiring the Company to pay a $250
portion of the penalty and suspending a $4,750 portion of the penalty will sufficiently
penalize the Company’s conduct while providing a strong incentive to comply with
Commission rules in the future.

Accordingly, we require Moving Art to pay the $250 portion of the penalty that is not
suspended in $50 installments over a period of five months according to the schedule set
out in Appendix A to this Order. The Company is cautioned, however, that if it misses a
payment due date, the entire amount of the penalty, including the $4,750 suspended
portion, will become immediately due and payable without further Commission order.

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington vested by statute with
authority to regulate persons engaged in the business of transporting household
goods for compensation over public roads in Washington.

2 The Commission has jurisdiction over the subject matter of this proceeding and
over Moving Art.

3) On at least one occasion, Moving Art offered to transport household goods within
the state of Washington without first having obtained a household goods carrier
permit from the Commission in violation of RCW 81.80.075.

4) On at least one occasion, Moving Art advertised to transport household goods
without first having obtained a household goods carrier permit from the
Commission in violation of RCW 81.80.075.

5) Moving Art should be ordered to immediately cease and desist operations as a
household goods carrier within the state of Washington.

(6) Moving Art should be assessed a penalty of $5,000 for two violations of RCW
81.80.075. A $4,750 portion of the penalty should be suspended for a period of
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1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

()

two years from the date of this Order, and then waived, provided Moving Art
refrains permanent from further operations as a household goods carrier in the
state of Washington without first obtaining the required permit from the
Commission, and provided Moving Art pays the unsuspended portion of the
penalty by the due date imposed in this Order.

ORDER
THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

Moving Art is classified as a common carrier of household goods within the state
of Washington.

Moving Art is ordered to immediately cease and desist operations as a household
goods carrier within the state of Washington.

Moving Art is assessed a penalty of $5,000. A $4,750 portion of the penalty is
suspended for a period of two years from the date of this Order, and waived
thereafter, provided Moving Art refrains permanently from further operations as a
household goods carrier in the state of Washington without first obtaining the
required permit from the Commission.

The unsuspended portion of the penalty ($250) is due and payable subject to the
payment schedule in Appendix A to this Order. If a payment is missed, the entire
amount of the penalty, including the suspended portion of $4,750, will become
due and payable the day after the missed penalty was due.

The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties to this
proceeding to effectuate the terms of this Order.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective November 21, 2018.

LAURA CHARTOFF
Administrative Law Judge
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Appendix A
Due Date Amount
12/19/2018 S50
01/22/2018 S50
02/19/2018 S50
03/19/2018 S50
04/19/2018 S50

If a payment is missed, the entire amount of
the penalty, including the suspended portion of $4,750, will become due and payable the
day after the missed penalty was due.
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NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

This is an initial order. The action proposed in this initial order is not yet effective. If you
disagree with this initial order and want the Commission to consider your comments, you
must take specific action within the time limits outlined below. If you agree with this
initial order, and you would like the Order to become final before the time limits expire,
you may send a letter to the Commission, waiving your right to petition for
administrative review.

WAC 480-07-825(2) provides that any party to this proceeding has twenty (20) days after
the entry of this initial order to file a Petition for Administrative Review. Section (3) of
the rule identifies what you must include in any petition as well as other requirements for
a petition. WAC 480-07-825(4) states that any party may file an Answer to a Petition for
review within (10) days after service of the petition.

WAC 480-07-830 provides that before the Commission enters a final order any party
may file a petition to reopen a contested proceeding to permit receipt of evidence
essential to a decision, but unavailable and not reasonably discoverable at the time of
hearing, or for other good and sufficient cause. The Commission will not accept answers
to a petition to reopen unless the Commission requests answers by written notice.

RCW 80.01.060(3), as amended in the 2006 legislative session, provides that an initial
order will become final without further Commission action if no party seeks
administrative review of the initial order and if the Commission fails to exercise
administrative review on its own motion.

Any Petition or Response must be electronically filed through the Commission’s web
portal as required by WAC 480-07-140(5). Any Petition or Response filed must also be
electronically served on each party of record as required by WAC 480-07-140(1)(b).



