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To whom it may concern,

I would like if someone with the Utilities and Transportation help clarify a couple
points. The first of them is why on a building site is it not required to install the
gas lines to a grade that will ultimately be at the right depth when project is
complete. The curbs sidewalk and parking lot have grades and plans that we
build off of. When we get to the site to install curbs and we have to excavate 2
inches deeper than the parking lot subgrade for the curb. Hitting of this line was
with the front bucket of a skid steer, scraping 2 inches lower for curb grade the
gas line should be close to 20 inches below the asphalt parking lot. | understand
the one call system | cannot understand why there is no requirement to install the
lines correctly. We come across this problem multiple times throughout the
season where the gas line is inches from the sidewalk base or part of the base.

My next concern is a gas line was dug up on July 11 2017 by my self at 10601 E
oth Spokane Valley. This was a located project with very fresh locate paint on the
ground. But when | hit the line it's just an accident not a big deal even when it
cost me a lot of money to have trucks and equipment sitting for four hours. Trying
to recoup my expenses from a poorly located project is laughable | guess. The
excuse | get is stubs are not required to be located. I'm to believe it's not
dangerous to hit a gas line since they are not required to locate all the buried
lines.

I would be very open to understand these rules completely.

Thank you

Greg Bacon
Bacon Concrete Inc.
509-998-9251
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16510 N Brannon Lane, Spokane, WA 99208-8750
WA Contractor # BACONCI072L9
Phone: (509) 924-3900 ~ Fa: (509) 468-7243




Service Date: March 27, 2018

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-180247
PENALTY AMOUNT: $3,500

Greg Bacon

Bacon Concrete, Inc.
16510 N. Brannon Lane
Spokane, WA 99208

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes you have

~ violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to provide the required
notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before excavating. RCW
19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service
and causes damage to a underground gas utility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than ten
thousand dollars for each violation.

Commission pipeline safety staff (Staff) reviewed damage reports submitted by Avista Utilities
(Avista) and information obtained from the One Call 811 database, and hereby notifies you that it
is assessing a penalty against you in the amount of $3,500 on the following grounds:

On September 7, 2017, Bacon Concrete, Inc. (Bacon Concrete or Company) was working
at 9001 N Stevens St. in Spokane, Washington. While excavating, Bacon Concrete hit and
damaged a newly installed 2> Avista natural gas line. Avista reported that Bacon Concrete
did not have a valid locate ticket prior to beginning work. Staff investigated and found no
record of a utility locate request for this location by Bacon Concrete. Staff sent a technical
assistance warning letter to Bacon Concrete on November 21, 2017, which included
detailed information about the requirements of Washington state’s dig law.

On October 2, 2017, Bacon Concrete was working at 512 West Maxine St. in Spokane,
Washington. While excavating, Bacon Concrete hit and damaged a 2” Avista natural gas
line. Staff investigated and found no record of a utility locate request for this location by
Bacon Concrete. Staff sent another technical assistance warning letter to Bacon Concrete
on December 19, 2017, which included detailed information about the requirements of
Washington state’s dig law.

On November 13, 2017, Bacon Concrete was working at 8227 N Regal St. in Spokane,
Washington. While excavating to install a new curb, Bacon Concrete severed a % Avista
“natural gas line. Staff investigated and found no record of a utility locate request for this
location by Bacon Concrete. Staff found that Bacon Concrete failed to notify a one-number
locator service prior to excavating and causing damage to an underground gas facility.
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Staff found that Bacon Concrete committed three violations of RCW 19.122.030(2) by
failing to request utility locates on three occasions. Staff recommends the Commission -
assess a $3,500 penalty for these three violations, as follows:

e No Penalty for the first violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on-
September 7, 2017;

e $1,000 penalty for the second violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on
October 2, 2017; and

e  $2,500 for the third violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on November
13, 2017. :

For a first time offense, staff typically provides a technical assistance letter to excavators who
allegedly cause damage to underground utilities without first requesting utility locates. This letter
provides information about Washington state’s dig law and when utility locates are required. In
this instance, due to the damage incidents occurring so close together, staff was unable to provide
the company with this information prior to the second and third damage incidents. Therefore, staff
is offering to treat the first violation as a warning and only recommend a penalty for the second
and third subsequent violations.

Staff’s research indicates that Bacon Concrete has a significant history of requesting utility locates
and that the violations were the result of Company negligence, not lack of knowledge of the
requirements of Washington state’s Dig Law. Even under these circumstances, Staff believes that
enforcing the entire $3,500 penalty against Bacon Concrete will be financially burdensome and
recommends that the Commission suspend a $2,500 portion of the penalty for a period of one year
subject to the conditions that: (1) Bacon Concrete field crew involved in excavation, including
Company management, attend Dig Safe training provided through the National Utility Contractors
Association (NUCA) within 12 months of the date of the Penalty Assessment; and (2) Bacon
Concrete commits no further violations of RCW 19.122 within the next 12 months.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $3,500 with an
offer to suspend $2,500 of penalty amount subject to the conditions that: (1) Bacon Concrete
management and all crews involved in excavation complete NUCA Dig Safe Training within 12
months of this Notice, and (2) Bacon Concrete commits no further violations of RCW 19.122
within one year of this Notice. The Commission will waive the suspended penalty amount of
$2,500 if Bacon Concrete complies with both conditions. If Bacon Concrete fails to comply with
either of these conditions, the $2,500 suspended penalty will become immediately due and
payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for additional violations.

These facts, if not contested or if proved.at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient
to support the penalty assessment. '

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you
‘may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of
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the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the
contest.

If you admit the violations.but believe there is a reason for any or all of the violation(s) that should
excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through
evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing
only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing.
Any request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. -
Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. '

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the $3,500 amount due; ,

e Pay $1,000 of the total penalty and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to

. suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining $2,500 penalty subject to the conditions that
all Bacon Concrete employees involved in excavation, including management, attend the
Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 12-months of this Notice; submit
documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the
training; and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within the next year; or

e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of any or all of the violation(s); or

e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email tb records@utc.wa.govIf you are
unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a pa tothesWashington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, 1?)‘?‘i%jt)glashington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March 27, 2018.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $3,500 in
payment of the penalty

. 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,000 toward the
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately
waive, the remaining $2,500 penaity amount on the conditions that all Bacon Concrete
employees involved in excavation, including management, attend the Dig Safe training
provided through NUCA within 12-months of this penalty assessment; submit
documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending
the training; and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within the next year.

[ 13. Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the
reasons I-describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

[ 1a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ]b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 1 4. Requestmitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
~ application here, your request will be denied):

[ 1a) Iaskforahearingto present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ]b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

.
/

Dated: Z/ - (}"“/ g [Month/Day/Year], at ,/ ) Ll )L & [City, State]

{/))f/[}u/ (,//(/d' “r?/c’ ’7/1//(/ ./j.ﬁ' //»——’”

Name of Respondent (company) — please print : Slgnature;7f Applicant




RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



