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TC-170577 PACIFIC NORTHWEST DISTRIBUTING, LLC.  
	WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION  


NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
	FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 


PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TC-170577 
	PENALTY AMOUNT: $1000 



Pacific  Northwest  Distributing, LLC. 
PO Box 1813 
VashoN,  WA  98070 


According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you 
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071 and 480-30-076, which 
requires auto trans and charter companies to file their annual report and pay regulatory fees each 
year by May 1. You did not file a complete annual report by May 1, 2017. 


Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess a penalty 
of $100 for  each violation of a Commission rule. In the case of a continuing violation, every 
day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance 
with WAC 480-30-071 and 480-30-076 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses 
penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its complete report or pay its regulatory 
fees after that date. 


As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1000 on the 
following basis: 


On February 28, 2017, the Commission sent the 2016 annual report forms  and  the 
2017 regulatory fee packets to all auto trans and charter companies registered in 
Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these 
companies to file complete annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May  1, 
2017. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the complete annual 
report by May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an 
extension to file your annual report was April 15. You did not request an 
extension.  


On Monday, May 1, 2017, Pacific Northwest Distributing, LLC filed an incomplete 2016 
annual report and paid a portion of its 2017 regulatory fee. As of May 15, the report 
remained incomplete and the full regulatory fee remains unpaid. May 15 is 10 business 
days from May 1, resulting in a penalty of $1,000. On May 15, Commission staff notified 
Pacific Northwest Distributing, LLC that the report was incomplete. A complete and 
accurate annual report is still not on file and additional penalties may accrue until the 
Commission receives it and the remaining regulatory  fee.  
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Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may 
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that 
request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 
resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the 
reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial 
of the request.  


If there is a  reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may 
ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact 
require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must 
include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a 
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 


The Commission will only grant requests for mitigation if the violations occurred due to 
circumstances beyond your control. Such circumstances include, but are not limited to: death or 
serious illness of the person responsible for filing the report, or a member of that person’s 
immediate family; destruction by fire or other casualty of your place of business or business 
records; or an act of fraud, embezzlement, theft, or conversion on the part of your employee.  


The following are examples of circumstances that are not considered be to beyond your control, 

and thus are not acceptable bases for requesting mitigation: financial hardship; a 
misunderstanding or lack of knowledge of Commission rules; failure to receive an annual report 
form from the Commission; mistakes or misconduct on the part of your employees; employee 
termination  or turnover; personal events such as weddings or graduation ceremonies; and 
vacations or business trips. 


If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider  the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 


You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 


• 
•  
•  


Pay  the $1000 due.  
Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations. 
Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty. 


In addition to your selection, a complete annual report and payment of the remaining 
regulatory fee is required. Payment of the penalty does not satisfy the requirement that you 
file an annual report and pay any applicable regulatory fee. 


Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and file it with the Washington Utilities and 
Transportation Commission at: https://www.utc.wa.gov/docs/Pages/ElectronicFiling.aspx, 

within FIFTEEN (15) days of receiving this electronic notice.    
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If you do not act within 15 days, the  Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The 
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-30-171 to revoke your authority to 
provide auto transportation services in Washington. 


DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 5, 2017. 




/s/ Gregory J. Kopta 

GREGORY J. KOPTA 
Administrative Law Judge 
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 


PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-170577 


PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 


I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements. 


[   ]  1.       Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have: 


   [   ] Enclosed $_____________ in payment of the penalty  


   [   ] Submitted my payment of $____________________ online at www.utc.wa.gov. 

My confirmation number is __________. 


   ]  2. 


Contest the violation. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not 
occur, for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
contest of the violations here, your request will be denied): 
 A complete report was filed on time and fees paid. Unresolved administrative issues 
at UTC resulted in the penalty assesment rather than further response from UTC 
when requested to clarify the dual charter issue which resulted in rescinsion of prior 
penalty assessments (see TE-160721). Specifically upon reciept of Mr. Bennett's 
allegation of inadequacies in this year's filing (email 5/15/17) (a) That owners equity 
less liabilities always equals Total assets is true but a distinction without a difference 
when speaking of pass thru entities such as a single member LLC or sole 
proprietorship. GAAP approved procedures can result in errors and this micro utility 
has in the past benefitted from review by owner /operator's spouse who was 
recovering from open heart surgery and unable to review for this immaterial error. 
and b. That the separate charter/excursion report was not filed. 
 Despite  asking for a working copy from Mr. Bennett and requesting clarification at 
his contact #360-664-1157 and reporting that there was no charter excursion activity, 
nor was the link he provided sufficiant for his stated purposes (it did not contain the 
requested schedule) he never responded (as in the past) which has resulted in 
erroneous penalization (see TE-160721). Because the requested format of the report  
format is a documentary fiction appropriate only to partnerships and corporations we 
believed the reports to be substantial and correct for all intents and purposes. 


[x ]  a) 



I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision 

 OR 

[   ]  b) 

I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

TC-170577  _Danette K. 
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I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 


Dated: __July 19th, 2017, at __Vashon WA____________ [city, state] 


 __Danette K. Stoner     ____________________ 
Name of Respondent (company) – please print 
----------------------------------- 
RCW 9A.72.020: 


	_________ 
Signature of Applicant 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath 
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an 
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a 
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”  
