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ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO 

$250 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all charter and excursion 

carriers. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and 

pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face penalties of $100 for each 

violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s 

continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Coastal Transport, LLC (Coastal Transport or Company) did not file its annual report on 

May 2, 2016, and had not made that filing by May 16. On May 27, Coastal Transport 

filed its annual report and paid the required regulatory fee. On June 20, the Commission 

assessed a penalty of $1,000 against Coastal Transport, calculated as $100 per business 

day from May 2 to May 16. 

 

3 On July 5, 2016, Coastal Transport responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, 

admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information 

provided. The Company explained that it mistakenly believed its annual report was due 

on May 31. 

 

4 On July 15, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $250, because the Company has been active since 2008 and 

has no prior violations of WAC 480-30-071. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-30-071 requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports by May 1 

of each year, or the first business day thereafter. Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its report 

was filed by the due date. 

 



DOCKET TE-160691 PAGE 2 

ORDER 01 

 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, Coastal Transport corrected the violation by 

filing its annual report and paying its regulatory fee prior to receiving the penalty 

assessment. In addition, this is the Company’s first violation of WAC 480-30-071 since it 

became regulated in 2008. Given the Company’s history of compliance, the violations are 

not likely to recur. In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise its discretion to 

reduce the penalty to $250. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) Coastal Transport, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is 

GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250.  

 

8 (2) The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than August 19, 2016. 

 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 5, 2016. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(January 7, 2013). 


