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	In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment Against 

RIGHT TURN MOVING, LLC
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ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO $250



BACKGROUND
1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all household goods carriers. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405.
2 Right Turn Moving, LLC (Right Turn Moving or Company) did not file its annual report on May 2, 2016, and had not made that filing by May 16. On May 23, Right Turn Moving filed a complete annual report and paid the required regulatory fee. On June 29, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 against Right Turn Moving, calculated as $100 per business day from May 2 to May 16.
3 On July 9, 2016, Right Turn Moving responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information provided. In its response, the Company states, “After receiving the annual report I set it aside, knowing that I had months to complete it. Things were stacked on top of the annual report paperwork and it was misplaced and overlooked. Once I found it I filed it immediately. We apologize for this oversight and ask for a reduction in our penalty.” 
4 On July 25, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty reduction to $25 per day, or $250, because the Company has been active since 2014 and has no prior violations of WAC 480-15-480.
DISCUSSION
5 WAC 480-15-480 requires household good carriers to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year, or the first business day thereafter. Companies are responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its report was filed by the due date.  
6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and the likelihood the violation will recur.[footnoteRef:1] Here, Right Turn Moving corrected the violation by filing its annual report and paying its regulatory fee prior to receiving the penalty assessment. In addition, this is the Company’s first violation of WAC 480-15-480 since it became regulated in 2014. Although the Company has a relatively brief history of compliance, we have routinely granted mitigation for first-time violations. In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $250. [1:  Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (January 7, 2013).] 

ORDER
THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 
7 (1)	Right Turn Moving, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250.  
8 [bookmark: _GoBack](2)	The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than August 29, 2016.
9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).
DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 15, 2016.
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
STEVEN V. KING
Executive Director and Secretary

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is posted on the Commission’s website.  

		
