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BACKGROUND 

1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated household 

goods moving companies. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their 

annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face penalties of 

$100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each 

day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

2 Thomas Earl Harris (Harris or Company) did not file an annual report on May 2, 2016, 

and had not made that filing by May 16. On June 28, the Commission assessed a penalty 

of $1,000 against Harris, calculated as $100 per business day from May 2 to May 16. 

3 On July 8, 2016, Harris responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting the 

violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information provided. In its 

request, the Company states, “I apologize for the mishap. I honestly do not recall getting 

your notice. I am a small company, one truck and myself. Being preoccupied with the 

welfare and health of elderly parents has distracted me of late. I am not making much 

income but would like to remain in service so I humbly request as much consideration as 

possible to resolve this issue and move on. I just paid my insurance, which was $4,000. 

Another large payment along with regular expenses would be a hardship.” 

4 On July 28, 2016, Harris filed a complete annual report and paid the required regulatory 

fee.  

5 On August 2, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $50 per day, or $500. Although the Company received a penalty that was 

later waived for violations of WAC 480-15-480 in 2014, Staff supports a reduced penalty 

because the Company provided new information about its financial situation.  
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DISCUSSION 

6 WAC 480-15-480 requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year, or the first business day thereafter. Companies are 

responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have 

ensured its annual report was filed by the deadline. 

7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Although Harris received a penalty that was later 

waived for violations of WAC 480-15-480 in 2014, the Company corrected the violations 

at issue by filing its annual report and paying the required regulatory fee, and introduced 

new information related to the owner’s personal and financial circumstances. In light of 

these factors, we find that a reduced penalty of $500 is appropriate. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

8 (1) Thomas Earl Harris’s request for mitigation is GRANTED, in part, and  

  the penalty is reduced to $500. 

9 (2) The $500 penalty is due and payable no later than August 26, 2016. 

10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 12, 2016. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

STEVEN V. KING 

Executive Director and Secretary 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   

 


