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	In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment Against 

PRIME TIME VENTURES

in the amount of $700
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ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION 



BACKGROUND
1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated telecommunications companies. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405.
2 Prime Time Ventures (Prime Time or Company) filed its annual report and paid the required regulatory fee on May 11, 2016. On June 15, the Commission assessed a penalty of $700 against Prime Time, calculated as $100 per business day from May 2 to May 10.
3 On June 20, 2016, Prime Time responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information provided. In its response, the Company states, “Filing late was due to an accident sustained by (myself) the companies Regulatory Representative. Which due to such unforeseen accident (where I broke my face) and I was hospitalized and unable to file on time, but did file as soon as I was able to, which was on 5/11/2016. I would ask for waiver of such penalties, due to our perfect and longtime historical standing of timely filings and payments.”  
4 On August 4, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty reduction to $25 per day, or $175. Although the Company received and paid a $375 penalty for violations of WAC 480-120-382 in 2012, Staff supports Prime Time’s request for mitigation due to its recent history of compliance and its introduction of new information related to its employee’s serious accident.
DISCUSSION
5 WAC 480-120-382 requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year, or the first business day thereafter. Companies are responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its report was timely filed despite the unavailability of the employee primarily responsible for its filing.
6 The Commission will nevertheless exercise its discretion to grant the Company’s request for mitigation. The Commission may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and the likelihood the violation will recur.[footnoteRef:1] Here, Prime Time corrected the violation by filing its annual report and paying its regulatory fee prior to receiving the penalty assessment. In addition, the Company introduced information related to a serious injury sustained by the employee responsible for making the filing. In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise its discretion to mitigate the penalty in full. [1:  Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (January 7, 2013).] 

ORDER
THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 
7 (1)	Prime Time Ventures’ request for mitigation of the $700 penalty is GRANTED.  
8 (2)	No penalty is due.
9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).
DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 12, 2016.
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
STEVEN V. KING
Executive Director and Secretary


NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is posted on the Commission’s website.  

		


