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ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION  

 

BACKGROUND 

1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated 

telecommunications companies. The forms included a reminder that companies must file 

their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face 

penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing 

violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

2 Origin Networks, LLC (Origin or Company) filed its annual report and paid the required 

regulatory fee on May 11, 2016. On June 15, the Commission assessed a penalty of $700 

against Origin, calculated as $100 per business day from May 2 to May 10. 

3 On June 20, 2016, Origin responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting 

the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information provided. In its 

response, the Company states, “Filing late was due to an accident sustained by (myself) 

the companies Regulatory Representative. Which due to such unforeseen accident (where 

I broke my face) and I was hospitalized and unable to file on time, but did file as soon as 

I was able to, which was on 5/11/2016. I would ask for waiver of such penalties, due to 

our perfect and longtime historical standing of timely filings and payments.”  

4 On August 4, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $175. Although the Company became regulated in 2015, 

Staff notes that its regulatory representative filed an annual report for another regulated 

company, and is well aware of the Commission’s filing requirements. Nevertheless, Staff 

supports Origin’s request for mitigation because it introduced new information related to 

its employee’s serious accident.  
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DISCUSSION 

5 WAC 480-120-382 requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year, or the first business day thereafter. 

Companies are responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and the Company 

should have ensured its report was timely filed despite the unavailability of the employee 

primarily responsible for its filing. 

6 The Commission will nevertheless exercise its discretion to grant the Company’s request 

for mitigation. The Commission may consider a number of factors when entertaining a 

request for mitigation, including whether the violation was promptly corrected, a 

company’s history of compliance, and the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, 

Origin corrected the violation by filing its annual report and paying its regulatory fee 

prior to receiving the penalty assessment. In addition, the Company introduced 

information related to a serious injury sustained by the employee responsible for making 

the filing. In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise its discretion to mitigate 

the penalty in full. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

7 (1) Origin Networks, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $700 penalty is GRANTED.   

8 (2) No penalty is due. 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 12, 2016. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

STEVEN V. KING 

Executive Director and Secretary 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   

 


