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BACKGROUND 

1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated 

telecommunications companies.  The forms included a reminder that companies must file 

their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face 

penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing 

violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

2 Modus, Inc. (Modus or Company) did not file its annual report on May 2, 2016, and had 

not made that filing by May 16. On May 31, Modus filed a complete annual report and 

paid the required regulatory fee. On June 15, the Commission assessed a penalty of 

$1,000 against Modus, calculated as $100 per business day from May 2 to May 16. 

3 On June 30, 2016, Modus responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting 

the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information provided. The 

Company explained that it submitted its annual report and a check for $2,190 on May 27, 

2016. The Company was subsequently refunded $2,037 because only the $150 regulatory 

fee was due. 

4 On July 18, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $250, because the Company has no prior violations of WAC 

480-120-382.  

DISCUSSION 

5 WAC 480-120-382 requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year, or the first business day thereafter. 
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Companies are responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and the Company 

should have ensured its annual report was timely filed. 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, Modus corrected the violation by filing its 

annual report and paying its regulatory fee prior to receiving the penalty assessment. 

Although Modus became regulated in 2015 and has not yet established a history of 

compliance, we have routinely granted mitigation to similarly situated companies in their 

first year of operation. Accordingly, the Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce 

the penalty to $250. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

7 (1) Modus, Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is GRANTED in part, 

and the penalty is reduced to $250.   

8 (2) The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than August 23, 2016. 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 9, 2016. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

STEVEN V. KING 

Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   

 


