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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

FUN WAY TO GO, LLC 

 

in the amount of $1,000 
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DOCKET TE-151024 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION 

TO $250 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-30-071. On February 27, 2015, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report 

and regulatory fee packets to all charter and excursion carriers. The forms included a 

reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by 

May 1, 2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the 

case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 

80.04.405. 

 

2 Fun Way To Go, LLC (Fun Way To Go or Company) did not file its annual report on 

May 1, 2015, and had not made that filing by May 15. On June 9, the Commission 

assessed a penalty of $1,000 against Fun Way To Go, calculated as $100 per business day 

from May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On May 26, Fun Way To Go filed its annual report. On June 22, the Company responded 

to the Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting the violations and requesting 

mitigation based on the written information provided. The Company explained that its 

part-time bookkeeper was out sick the third week of April and neglected to file the annual 

report. As soon as the Company became aware of the delinquency, it immediately filed 

its report. 

 

4 On June 30, 2015, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $250, because the Company paid its regulatory fees in 

January and has no prior violations of WAC 480-30-071.  

 

  



DOCKET TE-151024  PAGE 2 

ORDER 01 

 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-30-071 requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports by May 1 

of each year. Companies are responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and 

the Company should have ensured its report was timely filed, regardless of its 

bookkeeper’s absence.   

 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation.  The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, Fun Way To Go paid its regulatory fee in 

January, and filed its annual report prior to receiving the penalty assessment. In addition, 

this is the Company’s first violation of WAC 480-30-071 since it became regulated in 

2013. Although the Company has a relatively brief history of compliance, we have 

routinely granted mitigation for first time violations. In light of these factors, the 

Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $250.  

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) Fun Way To Go, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is 

GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250.   

 

8 (2) The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than July 13, 2015. 

 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 2, 2015. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


