[Service date June 15, 2015]
BEFORE THE WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment ) DOCKET TN-150989
Against )

) ORDER 01
THE EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN )
GOOD SAMARITAN SOCIETY ) ORDER GRANTING

) MITIGATION TO $250
in the amount of $1,000 )
................................... )

BACKGROUND

Washington law requires private, nonprofit transportation providers to file annual reports
and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-31-080. On February 27, 2015,
the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual
report and regulatory fee packets to all regulated private, nonprofit transportation
providers. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports
and pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation
of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a
separate violation. RCW 80.04.405.

The Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society (ELGSS or Company) did not file its
annual report on May 1, 2015, and had not made that filing by May 15. On May 21, the
Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 against ELGSS, calculated as $100 per
business day from May 1 to May 15.

On May 29, 2015, ELGSS filed its annual report and paid its regulatory and late payment
fees. That same day, the Company responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment,
admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written
information provided. The Company explained the employee responsible for completing
and submitting the 2014 annual report was terminated on April 7, 2015, and that it
believed the annual report was submitted prior to that date. The Company also stated that
its new employee will be responsible for filing annual reports going forward, and
requested the penalty be waived because of its significant financial impact.

On June 9, 2015, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the
Commission reduce the penalty to $25 per day, or $250. Staff noted that the Company
has no prior violations of WAC 480-31-080.
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DISCUSSION

WAC 480-31-080 requires private, nonprofit transportation providers to file annual
reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for
complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its annual
report was timely filed, regardless of employee turnover.

The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission
may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including a
company’s history of compliance, whether the violation was promptly corrected, and the
likelihood the violation will recur. Here, the Company has been active since 2005, and
has no previous violations of WAC 480-31-080. Additionally, the Company has since
filed its annual report and provided assurances of future compliance. Finally, the
Company stated that the penalty would create a financial hardship. The Commission’s
goal is to obtain compliance, not create an insurmountable financial burden for a
nonprofit company. In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise its discretion
to reduce the penalty to $250.

ORDER
THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

(1) The Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society’s request for mitigation of the
$1,000 penalty is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250.

(2 The penalty is due and payable no later than June 25, 2015.

The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 15, 2015.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

STEVEN V. KING
Executive Director and Secretary
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NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for
decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for
Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is
posted on the Commission’s website.



