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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

GREATER MAPLE VALLEY 

COMMUNITY CENTER 

 

in the amount of $1,000 
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DOCKET TN-150985 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION 

TO $250 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires private, nonprofit transportation providers to file annual reports 

and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-31-080. On February 27, 2015, 

the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual 

report and regulatory fee packets to all regulated private, nonprofit transportation 

providers. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports 

and pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation 

of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a 

separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Greater Maple Valley Community Center (GMVCC or Company) did not file its annual 

report on May 1, 2015, and had not made that filing by May 15. On May 21, the 

Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 against GMVCC, calculated as $100 per 

business day from May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On May 27, 2015, GMVCC filed its annual report and paid its regulatory and late 

payment fees. On May 29, the Company responded to the Commission’s penalty 

assessment, admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the 

written information provided. The Company explained that the employee previously 

responsible for completing and submitting its annual reports was laid off in September 

2014, and the Executive Director overlooked the filing requirement. The Company 

provided assurances of future compliance, and requested the penalty be waived because 

of the Company’s history of timely filings. 

 

4 On June 9, 2015, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission reduce the penalty to $25 per day, or $250. Staff noted that the Company 

has no prior violations of WAC 480-31-080. 
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DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-31-080 requires private, nonprofit transportation providers to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its annual 

report was timely filed, regardless of a reduction in force.  

 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation.  The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including a 

company’s history of compliance, whether the violation was promptly corrected, and the 

likelihood the violation will recur. This is GMVCC’s first violation of WAC 480-31-080, 

and the Company has since filed its annual report and paid its regulatory and late fees. In 

addition, the Company has been regulated since 2011; given its history of compliance and 

the circumstances that led to the late filing, the violation is not likely to recur. In light of 

these factors, the Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $250.  

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) Greater Maple Valley Community Center’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 

penalty is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250.   

 

8 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than June 25, 2015. 

 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 15, 2015. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


