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ORDER GRANTING  

MITIGATION TO $250 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires commercial ferry companies to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-51-100. On February 27, 2015, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report 

and regulatory fee packets to all regulated commercial ferry companies. The forms 

included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory 

fees by May 1, 2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules.  

In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 

80.04.405. 

 

2 Hat Island Community Association (Hat Island or Company) did not file its annual report 

on May 1, 2015, and had not made that filing by May 15. On May 21, the Commission 

assessed a penalty of $1,000 against Hat Island, calculated as $100 per business day from 

May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On June 1, 2015, Hat Island responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, 

admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written 

information provided. The Company explained that it hired a new bookkeeper on March 

1, 2015, who was in the process of transitioning the books to new accounting software, 

and was also out of the office from April 15 to May 15. The Company requests the 

penalty be waived due to the hardship created by staff turnover and the resulting time 

constraints. 

 

4 On June 9, 2015, Hat Island filed its 2014 annual report and paid its regulatory and late 

payment fees. 

 

5 On June 10, 2015, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission mitigate the penalty to $25 per day, or $250.  Staff noted that the Company 

has no prior violations of WAC 480-51-100.   
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DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-51-100 requires regulated commercial ferry companies to file annual reports 

and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for complying 

with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its annual report was 

timely filed, regardless of employee turnover and availability.   

 

7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including a 

company’s history of compliance, whether the violation was promptly corrected, and the 

likelihood the violation will recur.1 This is Hat Island’s first violation of WAC 480-51-

100, and the Company has since filed its annual report and paid its regulatory and late 

fees. In addition, the Company has been regulated since 2008; given its history of 

compliance, the violation is not likely to recur. In light of these factors, the Commission 

will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $250.  

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

8 (1) Hat Island Community Association’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty 

is GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250.   

 

9 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than June 25, 2015. 

 

10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 15, 2015. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


