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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

A&E, INC. and PACIFIC RELOCATION 

SERVICES OF WASHINGTON, LLC 

 

in the amount of $1,000 
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DOCKET TV-150868 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER DENYING REQUEST FOR 

HEARING; GRANTING  

MITIGATION TO $250 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-15-480. On February 27, 2015, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report 

and regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers. The forms included a reminder 

that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 

2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of 

continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Neither A&E, Inc. (A&E) nor Pacific Relocation Services of Washington, LLC (Pacific 

Relocation) filed an annual report on May 1, 2015, and neither company had made that 

filing by May 15. On May 29, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 against A&E 

and Pacific Relocation, calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On June 6, 2015, A&E filed its annual report and paid its regulatory fee. 

 

4 On June 9, 2015, both A&E and Pacific Relocation responded to the Commission’s 

penalty assessment. A&E requested mitigation based solely on the written information 

provided, and Pacific Relocation contested the violations and requested a hearing. Both 

companies provided the following, identical response, signed by Mike Michael:  

 

“Effective 12:00 a.m. January 1, 2015, all assets were sold and transferred 

from A&E, Inc. to Pacific Relocation Services of Washington, LLC … 

Mike Michael is the 100 % stockholder in A&E, Inc. … and Jacob Alden 

is the 100% stockholder in … Pacific Relocation Services of Washington, 

LLC … At the time and date of transfer, A&E, Inc. … ceased doing 

business. Prior to the date and time of closing … Pacific Relocation 

Services of Washington, LLC [had not] engaged in any business. As A&E 
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[was] no longer in business, I was not aware that the annual report was to 

be filed.” 

 

5 On June 25, 2015, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission waive the penalty. Staff notes that A&E received a penalty for a late-filed 

annual report in 2014, but trusts Mr. Michael’s belief was sincere that no filing was due 

because the company’s ownership was transferred.  

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-15-480 requires permitted household goods carriers to file annual reports and 

pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for complying 

with their legal obligations, which includes filing an annual report for any portion of the 

preceding year in which they operated. 

 

7 As a preliminary matter, we deny Pacific Relocation’s request for a hearing. The 

Commission’s penalty assessment advised the Company that a request for hearing will 

only be granted if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in hearing. Here, no issues of law or fact are in dispute. The companies’ 

responses clarify each company’s role; because Pacific Relocation did not operate in 

2014, it was not required to file an annual report. The facts, therefore, are undisputed, and 

the law is clear: A&E is the party responsible for the late-filed annual report. 

 

8 Accordingly, turn to A&E’s application for mitigation. Every permit holder is required to 

file an annual report and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year for any portion of the 

previous year in which it operated; the fact that A&E mistakenly believed it was not 

required to do so is irrelevant. 

 

9 Nevertheless, we will assess a reduced penalty. The Commission may consider a number 

of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including a company’s history of 

compliance, whether the violation was promptly corrected, and the likelihood the 

violation will recur.1 A&E received and paid a reduced penalty of $25 for a late-filed 

annual report in 2014. Although A&E has since filed its annual report and paid its 

regulatory and late payment fees, the violations are likely to recur absent an escalated 

penalty because Mr. Michael continues to play an active role in Pacific Relocation’s 

operations. According to Pacific Relocation’s application for transfer, which was filed 

with the Commission on January 29, 2015, “the seller, Mike Michael, and his entire staff 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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[are] staying on board. Mike will train me for at least six months and will stay on beyond 

that for additional guidance.” In light of these circumstances, we are not willing to waive 

the penalty in its entirety. We will, however, exercise our discretion to assess a reduced 

penalty of $25 per day, or $250. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

10 (1) Pacific Relocation Services of Washington, LLC’s request for a hearing is 

DENIED.   

 

11 (2) A&E, Inc.’s request for mitigation is GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is 

reduced to $250. 

 

12 (4)  The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than July 10, 2015. 

 

13 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 30, 2015. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


