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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment ) DOCKET UT-150863
Against )

) ORDER 01
WASHINGTON TELCO, LLC )

) ORDER GRANTING
in the amount of $1,000 ) MITIGATION TO $250

)
................................. )

BACKGROUND

Washington law requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual reports
and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-120-382. On February 27,
2015, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed
annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated telecommunications companies.
The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their
regulatory fees by May 1, 2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of
Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a
separate violation. RCW 80.04.405.

Washington Telco, LLC (Washington Telco or Company) did not file its annual report on
May 1, 2015, and had not made that filing by May 15. On June 5, the Commission
assessed a penalty of $1,000 against Washington Telco, calculated as $100 per business
day from May 1 to May 15.

On July 21, 2015, Washington Telco responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment,
admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information
provided. The Company explained that it did not file an annual report because it has not
conducted any business in Washington. As of July 24, 2015, the Company has not filed
its annual report.

On July 27, 2015, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty
reduction to $25 per day, or $250, conditioned on the Company filing its annual report.
Staff explained that the Company became regulated in 2014, and therefore has no prior
violations of WAC 480-120-382.
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DISCUSSION

WAC 480-120-382 requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual
reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for
complying with their legal obligations, and the Company is required to file an annual
report regardless of whether it conducted any business in Washington.

The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission
may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including
whether the violation was promptly corrected and the likelihood the violation will recur.?
Although Washington Telco has not yet corrected the violation, we will provide the
Company with an opportunity to do so. Because we have granted mitigation to similarly
situated companies in their first year of operation, the Commission will exercise its
discretion to reduce the penalty to $250 conditioned on the Company filing its complete
annual report no later than ten days from the date of this order. If the Company fails to
file a complete annual report by that date, the remaining $750 penalty will immediately
become due and payable without further action by the Commission.

ORDER
THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

(1)  Washington Telco, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is
GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250 conditioned on
Washington Telco, LLC filing a complete annual report no later than August 10,
2015. If Washington Telco, LLC fails to complete its filing by that date, the
remaining $750 penalty will become due and payable on August 11, 2015,
without further action by the Commission.

2 The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than August 10, 2015.

! Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(January 7, 2013).
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The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 31, 2015.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

STEVEN V. KING
Executive Director and Secretary

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for
decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for
Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is
posted on the Commission’s website.



