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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

CATTCOMM LLC 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 
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) 
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DOCKET UT-150802 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING  MITIGATION 

TO $250 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual reports 

and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-120-382. On February 27, 

2015, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed 

annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated telecommunications companies.  

The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their 

regulatory fees by May 1, 2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of 

Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a 

separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 CATTCOMM LLC (CATTCOMM or Company) did not file its annual report on May 1, 

2015, and had not made that filing by May 15. On June 2, the Commission assessed a 

penalty of $1,000 against CATTCOMM, calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 

to May 15. 

 

3 On June 8, 2015, CATTCOMM responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, 

admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information 

provided. The Company explained that it is a newly established CLEC, and was told by 

Commission staff that it did not need to file an annual report because it did not operate as 

a CLEC in 2014. The Company provided a copy of an email communication with 

Commission staff. 

 

4 On June 17, 2015, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $250, because the Company has no prior violations of WAC 

480-120-382. Staff noted that the email correspondence between the Company and Staff 

concerned a data request sent to all telecommunications carriers on March 23, 2015, and 

was not related to annual reporting requirements. 

 

5 On June 22, 2015, CATTCOMM filed its annual report.  
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DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-120-382 requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its annual 

report was timely filed.   

 

7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected and the likelihood the violation will recur.1 

CATTCOMM has since corrected the violations by filing its annual report; but because 

the email correspondence between Staff and the Company was unrelated to annual 

reporting requirements, we are not willing to waive the penalty entirely. The Commission 

will, however, exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $250 because we have 

granted mitigation to similarly situated companies in their first year of operation.  

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

8 (1) CATTCOMM LLC’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is GRANTED 

in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250.   

 

9 (2) The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than July 17, 2015. 

 

10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 7, 2015. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


