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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

AGUILAR, JUAN 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

DOCKET TE-141045 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING 

MITIGATION TO $200 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports by May 

1 of each year.  WAC 480-30-071.  On November 23, 2013, the Washington Utilities 

and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed a letter to all charter and 

excursion carriers explaining that it recently adopted a rule changing the annual report 

due date for those carriers from December 31 to May 1.  Regulatory fees remain due 

on December 31.  On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed annual report forms 

to all charter and excursion carriers.  The forms included a reminder that companies 

must file their annual reports by May 1, 2014, or face penalties of $100 for each 

violation of Commission rules.  In the case of continuing violations, each day’s 

continuance is a separate violation.  RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Juan Aguilar timely paid its regulatory fee, but did not file its annual report on May 1, 

2014, and had not made that filing by May 15.  On May 23, the Commission assessed 

a penalty of $1,000 against Juan Aguilar, calculated as $100 per business day from 

May 1 to May 15.     

 

3 On June 6, 2014, Juan Aguilar responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment 

admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written 

information provided.  The Company explained that its filing was late because, as a 

new company filing for the first time, its owner is still in the process of learning all 

the relevant regulations and procedures.  The Company also stated that it did not 

operate in 2013 and has no mileage to report. 
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4 On June 9, 2014, Juan Aguilar filed its annual report.  

 

5 On June 16, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $200 because the Company timely paid its regulatory fee and has no 

prior violations of WAC 480-30-071.   

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-30-071 requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports by 

May 1 of each year.   Companies are responsible for being aware of applicable 

Commission rules and complying with their legal obligations.  Accordingly, the 

Company should have been aware of the need to file an annual report by May 1, 

particularly when the Commission sent forms and a reminder on February 28. 

 

7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation.  The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the violation was promptly corrected and the likelihood the 

violation will recur.1  Here, the Company timely paid its regulatory fee, and has since 

filed its annual report.  Because we have granted mitigation to similarly situated 

companies in their first year of operation, the Commission will exercise its discretion 

to reduce the penalty to $200. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

8 (1) The request of Juan Aguilar for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is GRANTED 

in part, and the penalty is reduced to $200.   

 

9 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than August 15, 2014. 

  

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 1, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission’s website. 


