
[Service Date July 31, 2014] 

BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

VANDERVEEN FAMILY 

TRANSPORT, INC. 

 

in the amount of $200 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

DOCKET TG-141017 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER DENYING MITIGATION  

 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires solid waste companies to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-70-071.  On February 28, 2014, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual 

report and regulatory fee packets to all regulated solid waste companies.  The forms 

included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their 

regulatory fees by May 1, 2014, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of 

Commission rules.  In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a 

separate violation.  RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Vanderveen Family Transport did not file its annual report on May 1.  On May 23, the 

Commission assessed a penalty of $200 against Vanderveen Family Transport, 

calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to May 5, the day the report was 

received.   

 

3 On June 3, 2014, Vanderveen Family Transport responded to the Commission’s 

penalty assessment admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty 

based on the written information provided.  The Company explained that it believed 

the report would be delivered by May 1, but it was two days late.  The Company also 

stated it had no regulated revenue in 2013, and therefore owed no regulatory fee. 
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4 On June 13, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation because the Company 

received a penalty for violations of WAC 480-70-071 in 2013, and presented no new 

information for Staff to consider. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-70-071 requires regulated solid waste companies to file annual reports and 

pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for being 

aware of applicable Commission rules and complying with their legal obligations.  

Accordingly, the Company should have taken measures to ensure its annual report 

was received by May 1, particularly in light of the fact that the Company received a 

penalty for violations last year.   

 

6 The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and denies the Company’s 

request for mitigation.  The Commission may consider a number of factors when 

entertaining a request for mitigation, including a company’s history of compliance 

and the likelihood the violation will recur.1  Ultimately, the Commission’s goal is to 

gain compliance going forward.  Here, the Company filed late in 2013, and received 

and paid a reduced penalty at that time.  The Company’s compliance history 

demonstrates that the violation is likely to recur absent an additional penalty.  

Accordingly, the Commission finds the penalty to be a reasonable deterrent to 

overlooking future filing deadlines and requirements. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) The request of Vanderveen Family Transport, Inc. for mitigation of the $200 

penalty is DENIED.   

 

8 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than August 14, 2014. 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 31, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission’s website. 


