
[Service date July 14, 2014] 

BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

RECORD HAULING SERVICE, INC. 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

)

) 

) 

) 
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) 
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DOCKET TV-140987 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER DENYING MITIGATION 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-15-480.  On February 28, 2014, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual 

report and regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers.  The forms included 

a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees 

by May 1, 2014, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules.  In 

the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation.  

RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Record Hauling Service did not file its annual report on May 1, 2014, and had not 

made that filing by May 15.  On June 6, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 

against Record Hauling Service, calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to 

May 15. 

 

3 On June 13, 2014, Record Hauling Service filed its annual report with no regulatory 

fee due. 

 

4 On June 18, 2014, Record Hauling Service responded to the Commission’s penalty 

assessment and requested mitigation based on the written information provided.  The 

Company explained that it did not receive the annual report form in the mail, and 

therefore forgot to file it. 

 

5 On July 2, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation.  Staff explained that the 



DOCKET TV-140987  PAGE 2 

ORDER 01 

 

Company was previously delinquent in 2013, and received a mitigated penalty at that 

time.   

 

6 On July 11, 2014, after receiving Staff’s recommendation, the Company remitted a 

payment of $1,000 to the Commission. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

7 WAC 480-15-480 requires permitted household goods carriers to file annual reports 

and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have been aware of 

the need to file an annual report, particularly given the Commission’s reminders.  The 

Company should not, however, rely on the Commission’s notifications to ensure 

compliance. 

 

8 The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and denies the Company’s 

request for mitigation.  The Commission may consider a number of factors when 

entertaining a request for mitigation, including the company’s compliance history and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1  Ultimately, the Commission’s goal is to gain 

compliance going forward.  Here, the Company has a history of noncompliance; it 

received and paid a reduced penalty in 2013.  Accordingly, the violations are likely to 

recur absent an escalated penalty. The Commission finds the penalty amount to be a 

reasonable deterrent to overlooking future filing deadlines and requirements. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

9 (1) The request of Record Hauling Service, Inc. for mitigation of the $1,000 

penalty is DENIED.   

 

10 (2) The penalty was paid in full on July 11, 2014. 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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11 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 15, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission's website. 


