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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

CROSSETTE, MATTHEW S. 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 
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ORDER 01 

 

ORDER DENYING MITIGATION 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-15-480.  On February 28, 2014, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual 

report and regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers.  The forms included 

a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees 

by May 1, 2014, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules.  In 

the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation.  

RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Matthew S. Crossette did not file its annual report on May 1, 2014, and had not made 

that filing by May 15.  On June 4, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 

against Matthew S. Crossette, calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to May 

15. 

 

3 On June 23, 2014, Matthew S. Crossette sent an email to the Commission’s Records 

Center requesting the Commission waive the $1,000 penalty because the Company is 

relatively new and unable to pay. 

 

4 On June 24, 2014, Matthew S. Crossette formally responded to the Commission’s 

penalty assessment and requested mitigation, but failed to provide a written statement 

to support its request.   

 

5 On July 9, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation.  Staff explained that the 
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Company failed to provide a written statement supporting its request and, as of June 

30, had not yet filed its annual report or paid its regulatory fee.   

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-15-480 requires permitted household goods carriers to file annual reports 

and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have been aware of 

the need to file an annual report, particularly given the Commission’s reminders.   

 

7 The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and denies the Company’s 

request for mitigation.  The Commission may consider a number of factors when 

entertaining a request for mitigation, including whether the violation was promptly 

corrected and the likelihood the violation will recur.1  Ultimately, the Commission’s 

goal is the Company’s compliance with its regulatory obligations.  Here, the 

Company offers no explanation for its failure to timely file its annual report and pay 

its regulatory fee and remains in violation of the Commission rule requiring those 

filings.  The Company has failed to provide any grounds for mitigating the assessed 

penalty and has demonstrated only that it refuses to take its reporting obligations 

seriously.  Accordingly, the Commission finds the penalty amount to be a reasonable 

means of compelling Company compliance with Commission filing deadlines and 

requirements. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

8 (1) The request of Matthew S. Crossette for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is 

DENIED.   

 

9 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than July 28, 2014. 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 14, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission's website. 


